Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok. I searched for this, and the last relevant topic was in May '05. And it didn't really answer my question, but it did bring up some new ones.
1.) Can I assume that the unit with the model bearing a Macharian cross can redeploy itself? I.E. a Veterans squad with the upgraded sergeant w/ Macharian Cross can use it to redeploy itself?
2.) That same unit also has a surveyor. After deployment, they scan for infiltrators, find them, and then shoot at them.
3.) After shooting at them, they use the Macharian cross to redeploy, either towards the enemy (if the shooting worked out) or away from the fighting (if they fail to take down the squad).
I am thinking about making some Veterans Squads that could do this, throwing a Heavy Bolter and a few plasma guns, then seeing if I can take out some of those pesky snipers before I'd even have to deal with them.
Any help would be great. Basically, I just want to make sure I am not breaking any rules, and that this would be a viable strategy.
Gareth is the person I try to impress when I convert and paint.
1) Tricky, it only says in the dex, 6" around the character, though this should include his own squad, so I'd say yes to 1).
2) yes, if in range of course. though, it only works if shooting under the conditions of the scanner-rule are part of the deployment phase, because the macharian-cross movement takes place just after the deployment phase.
3) Yes, but within your deployment zone. so the offensive strategie won't work well i guess.
concerning 2) after reading the scanner rule again, I say yes to that. IMO the infiltraters are deployed, the squad using the scanner shoots, then the next infiltrators etc. as it says in the dex that it takes place before the beginning, but is not precise wether its during the deployment phase or not i think its legal. plus, it says in the dex that a targeted unit might fall back, and this would be in the deployment phase (logically).
Last edited by Microcosm; July 20th, 2006 at 15:56.
The surveyor action takes place "before the battle begins", potentially like the sentinels 'scout' special rule, and therefor i think as long as you do the surveyot thing before the dice roll for first turn (which you should anyway) you could then redeploy them afterwards, as long as it is before the beggining of the game (dice roll for first turn) and the end of the deployment faze.