Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What really works with the nullrod? The ruels state that you can not use pyshic powers with the character/unit that has it - but can you use a psychic hood or force-weapon?
The psychic hood shouldn't be a problem, there isn't even a psychic test, but the force weapon rules state that you roll a psychic test just like a psychic power. Does this make it count as a psychic power as far as the null rod goes?
Well, using a Force weapon does count as using a psychic power, so no, you cannot use them with a model carrying a Null Rod.
As for the Hood, I'm inclined to say no - the Null Rod cuts off all psychic-related contact for the model (& unit) carrying it. But I can't find anything in the rules saying one way or the other, at the moment. If you want my opinion, be safe and put the Hood elsewhere in your list.
Ok - thanks for the help. Thing is I'm meeting Thousand sons on monday and I have a unit with both inquisitor and librarian. If this mean I can't use the force weapon it doesn't really matter, but the psychic hood I can't do without....so I'm going to try how it works this time...let's see if next errata updates this.
Thanks once again!
As the psychic hood is described in Codex: SM it's use is not described as a psychic power itself. Two points:
1. It does not require a psychic test to activate
2. Nor does it state it is a psychic power that does not require such a test.
As the rules are written you may indeed use it with a null rod armed character, unless I have missed a rules errata or FAQ on this.
I will add that i play Ultramarines, Daemon HUnters and also Tzeentch flavored Black legion so I say the above having been on both sides of the hood...
Connecticut Ultimate Wargaming Club:http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/CTUWC/