Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just bought a termie psycannon arm for my grandmaster/brother captain and was wondering about some WYSIWYG rules for independent charactors.
What I would like to do is put the Psycannon on my Stern model; I think his stormbolter arm looks lame, and I have painted the arm boltgun metal (the color I painted stern). That would leave me with two GK heros, and no special charactors, but I was looking at the standard BC and he is equipt with all of Sterns wargear, so what I am wondering is, am I allowed to use my BC model for stern and my stern model for my psycannon grandmaster following the WYSIWYG rules? Or does a special charactor have to be represented by the special charactor model?
I don't think it will ever be an issue, but before it comes up I would just like to know what you guys thought. If a lot of people have a problem with it I will probably move the BC arm to stern, and the psycannon to the BC...really anything to get rid of sterns open hand; I just think it looks lame.
I think that you need your opponents permission to use special charactors anyway so when you tell him that your useing stern just point to him and say thats stern right there.
What? Yes the one with the Psycannon
If there dont let you then i would say that they need to chill out
"Hey sarge, this lasgun is heavy. I wish we had something lighter."
FF7: ABOUT RANDOM BATTLES
It sounds like you're doing exactly what I did. I bought the BC Stern model, but replaced the storm bolter arm with a standard GKT termie arm with a psycannon. (And I agree: the BC Stern arm is dumb looking. It's that arm, actually, that I'm using in the TH/SS conversion I'm asking about in another thread.) I never use BC Stern himself, but the model now serves as either a BC or GM with a psycannon. As for WYSIWYG, you shouldn't be buying much more than an Icon of the Just, Sacred Incense, or mastercrafting anyway. And all that stuff (even a handy book if you're really splurging and want a Grimoire of True Names) is represented on the model. Thing is, whatever you don't buy from that list of items just becomes kewl decoration on the model. Whatever you do buy is there, so you should be golden.
Like you, I also have the GK Terminator "seargent" model from the GKT box set. I left him with his storm bolter arm per usual, so now he serves as either a BC or GM with a storm bolter. He's got all the same wargear details as the BC Stern model, so the same WYSIWYG issues hold for him. I even sometimes use this model as just a normal GKT in the retinue when I field the BC Stern model, just because he's so much more interesting than the normal GKT, and I'm rather proud of the way he looks. 'Course, that's only for friendly games.
Since I don't have any desire to field a GK hero with two close combat weapons, or a thunder hammer, or a daemonhammer, or a storm shield, these two models serve every concievable combination of GK Hero + wargear that I could possibly desire.
Last edited by number6; July 26th, 2006 at 18:05.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Brother Captain Stern has got to be the most useless DH special character,
A kitted out GM is far more apt than Stern is, the only benefit to him being that he actually looks like a GM model whereas all we normally have to work with is the BC model from the boxed set.
Pesonally, i replaced the end of his arm with an axe taken from a fantasy empire sprue. I then fixed up any ugliness with putty.
Now it just looks like he is carrying a second hand weapon (namely: a power axe)
He is now my Super Duper combat fiend with 5 attacks standard.....yummy!!
I also like to add in a master craft,
A bit off topic so i'll get back to the point, Brother Captain Stern can be fielded as a 'counts for' model freely. As long as your opponent knows what it is you dont even need to get their permission (only unsporting players would refuse to give it anyway),