Welcome to Librarium Online!
Just curious. I was considering making my own SM army, primarily for the modeling and display opportunities, but I would like to make it legal in case I end up wanting to play a few games with it. I've always loved the look of the Forgeworld dreadnought weapons, especially the Mortis pattern dreads (two identical weapons) and the Plasma Cannon wielding dread. The only problem is, in reading the SM codex, one can clearly see that there are very limited options on how to arm your dread.
So, are there any Forgeworld rules available (including points values) for the unique FW dread weapons? I would love to have a Mortis or Plasma-toting dread, but not if I can't even game with it at some point.
Thanks in advance.
I believe that the rules are in Imperial Armour II.
Also, if you are willing to include a Grey Knights HQ, you can take Grey Knights Dreads as Allies, and they have the 3rd edition weapon options still.
Finally, when the next Codex: Dark Angels comes out, I will be extremely surprised if it doesn't have the option to take Plasma Dreads, and there have been murmurs of them being able to take Mortis Pattern Dreads.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
Hey Housten! Long time no see! ^_^ ^_^ ^_^
However, I can't allow you to ask for the rules. :hmm: I don't think you are, but I'm not entirley sure as to the purpose of this thread. Are you asking where you will find them? If so, thats all good. However, if you want someone to acutally post the rules, I'll have to close the thread.
Love and peace
Just as Corianis said, there are FW rules for their dreadnoughts. These rules can be found on pages 131-142 of Imperial Armour Volume 2. Have a look here for a list of contents of the book. There are also rules published on the FW website for the new "siege" dreadnought. Have a look on the downloads page of the FW site for those.
The Dread rule in IA:2 include the mortis pattern, as well as a couple of other patterns.
Hope this helps mate.
Hey Lord Yossanrion; yes, it has been a while...life gets in the way, you know? But I always try to make my way back to the Old World or the nightmare 41st Millenium. Feels more like home.
Not to worry, I was just curious to know where I can find the rules, and now I know. Thanks for your help, folks, and the DA codex rumours sound likely, but I wanted to base my SM on the regular codex.
One final question, which I think I already know the answer to: are the rules in Imperial Armour books legal in tournaments and regular games, or do you need your opponent's permission to field Forgeworld stuff with their own rules?
Thanks again everyone. And take care Yoss...will definitely see you around. PM me if you want, and we can catch up.
Only DA dreads may take plasma cannons and Mortis dreads are DA only as well. Rules for both are already out. The DA FAQ states the point value for the dreadnought plasma cannon and the mortis pattern rules are indeed in Imperial Armour 2 although there is no way in hell I'm paying $100 for that book for a 2 page set of rules to field a Mortis. I know the rules for em though :yes: teh internets is a wonderful place!
Honestly the Mortis isn't really that great. It's way too expensive when you get to doubling the good stuff like TLLCs or Plasma cannons. Heavy Bolters are meh at best as well especially with the way assault cannons are now, there is no point to take a dual HB dread. The only one I see being worth it is the dual Autocannon dread and that one is dubious at best.
BUT... I do have a plasma cannon arm from FW and I can't wait to use it on terminators or mega armored Nobs or something else really expensive!
Last edited by ScottyDsntKnow; August 4th, 2006 at 05:29.
The sun never sets on a badass.
For most of it you need to opponent's or the tournament organiser's permission. As some of the entries in the Space Marine Imperial Armour book have identical rules to those printed in the codex (predators, land speeders etc - the book has a shedload of fluff though so is definately worth it IMO) you will not need permission for these vehicles. However, for the new SM vehicles that FW produce (*drools* the LR Prometheus *drools*), and for the rules they have changed slightly in places (i.e. the dreadnought ones) you will need your opponent's permission.Originally Posted by Houston
Hope this helps.
Sorry Scotty but your slightly off, Space Wolf Venerable Dreads can take plasma cannons too. Your not THAT unique, although the mortis is still yours.
Yeah the wolves can take em but only the venerable ones can so you are limited to one. All DA dreads can have them and yeah the Mortis is unique I know. Still think it isn't all that great though.
The sun never sets on a badass.