Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Which of the three ordnance weapons can fire indirectly? All three have the same thing listed under Type, Ordnance 1/Blast. They use the large blast marker right? I think I remember people using the basalisk to fire over buildings at me before. What about the demolisher and the other Leman Russ? Where does it say which can and which can't? Is this enough questions? Thanks for the help guys
This is a bit more at home in the Rules forum.
Crusade: Wrong. Battle cannons can be fired indirectly aswell(Assuming they're mounted on a Chaos Defiler with the indirect fire upgrade).Originally Posted by Crusade
I took a look at the ordnance weapons available to us guardsmen at the summary in the back of the codex and they all say ordnance 1/blast. Since there was no difference there, I went and checked out the individual vehicle's profiles and there you have your answer. Not even the Basilisk can fire indirectly unless you pay for the indirect fire upgrade listed in it's profile.
Space Marine whirlwinds do not have to take this upgrade though, since their missiles are listed as guess range weapons from the start, so they don't have to pay for the ability to fire indirectly, they come with it.
Thanks for the info. Do you happen to know where it states this or is it just a "know" fact?The earthshaker is the only one able to take inderect fire.
Indirect fire is noted with a "G" next to the weapon's range. Certain weapons, like the earthshaker, will have additional limits (ie: min range) noted in the profile.
Just to state this a bit more clearly, as we're obviously talking about Imperial Guard and there's no need to confuse anyone with Defilers and other out-of-codex models or rules:
The only vehicle in the IG Heavy Support section that is allowed to use indirect fire is the Basilisk. However, you must pay for this upgrade and is has a minimum range, as you will read in the profile. You do not always have to fire indirectly, however, and may use it with a LOS if you wish, nullifying the minimum range (since it's for the indirect fire only).
I hope that makes things clear.