Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you want to use a special character, do you have to be from that chapter? so for example if i wanted to use lysander, would i have to have an imperial fist army?
if you do have to have that army, could you use the rules, and say they are someone else? because if you do this the rules are still fair and it's kind of a counts as if you get my drift.
your thoughts are appreciated.
The answer to your first question is yes, if you want to use a Special Character, such as Lysander, then you would have to be playing the army that they are from. In this case it would be the Imperial Fists, which use the "Suffer Not The Works Of Heretics" and the "Death Before Dishonour" traits/drawbacks.
The answer to your second question is also yes. If you have say, Imperial Fists, you could design your own character, but use Lysander's rules for it, as long as the model itself is WYSIWYG. I also believe that you would have to put Lysander on the army list to be fair rules-wise.
Any more questions?
no, i meant that say if you played ultramarines, could you make up a character and use lysanders rules?
no, unfortunately the special characters were created for those armies in perticular. otherwise i would be trotting around with shrikes wing in my ultramarine army.
Oh sorry, my bad. I'm in the same boat as GreyKnight6962 though. Shrike's wing kick ass.
if you read the rules for most specail characters it says "you may add captain lysnader to a 2500 point IMPERIAL FIST ARMY not an 2500 point ULTRAMARINES army , just clearing that up:shifty:
AM I THE ONLY NERD WHO PLAYS FOOTBALL!!!!!!
40k= Crimson Fists, Kroot Mercenaries, Harkoni Helldivers
Blood Bowl= Orks, Humans, Ogres, Lizardmen
Go to www.mcsmstudios.com for a hearty laugh
Worry not, there is nothing, except ultramarine only units, which an Imperial fist commander cant use.no, i meant that say if you played ultramarines, could you make up a character and use lysanders rules?
You use the same codex, ext. you just have more options with Imperail fists IE tank hunters on troops/devs. Otherwise your ultramarines.
The only drawback is your opponnet cant try to role the dice to see if there will be an extra turn played.
However, its always really bad arse when your army does that.
And anyway, your opponent would only do this is you where winning anyway, so chances are, this will be a icying on the cake turn for you.
Forged, how is your post in any way relevant to the topic being discussed?
He is wondering if he can be playing Ultramarines and take Lysander, under a made-up character's rules - the answer is no. How does this have to do with actually playing the Imperial Fists? :wacko:
potentially you could make up your own chapter name and your own character name and just say for gaming purposes they count as "Lysander and Imperial Fists"; even though you named/painted them in your own color scheme.Originally Posted by drumbum8000
As long as you stick to one set of special rules and if you let your opponent know before the game there shouldn't be any problem.
Shut up and play.