Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have managed to unearth rules published by GW for fielding a Death Company Army. I realise the article was printed during 3rd Edition but considering the Blood Angels codex is unchanged I see no reason why they cannot be used.
What do you think?
"Crime is merely a left handed form of human endeavor"
Blood Angels 6000pts
Chaos Space Marines 3000pts
A Death Company army, or just a Blood Angels army?
If you "uncovered" rules that aren't in the Blood Angels codex/FAQ, then I highly doubt that they're still legal when dealing with Death Company. I'm no SM expert, though.
Make sure to check out the Blood Angels FAQ if you're using the Blood Angels rules:
there were rules in a WD a while ago (I think during the Arageddon campaign)about fielding a death company only BA army.
The rules were officially classed as "experimental" and needed opponents permission, if I remember correctly. And I would think that that is their status to this day. They were mostly associated with the special circumstances of Armageddon and I think there was a Deatch Company version of one of their special characters also (Tycho???).
I guess they can be fun for one off games. But if you want to run across the table with a bunch of psychos and get into HTH as quickly as possible you might want t go for a Khorne army
Last edited by Lamenter; August 18th, 2006 at 21:41.
Shut up and play.
The article is in WD 229 and I've found a few links online to the rules also but I'm not sure if they're legal to post here or not since they give actual rules and it doesn't look like they're an actual GW site. Suffice to say yeah I'd say they're still applicable since they were 3rd ed rules and the DC really hasn't changed.
Basically all your units are DC, all dreads become DC dreads and you can take no tanks except rhinos or razorbacks. All units cost more and they all move D6" forward every turn in addition to normal moves etc just as if they failed their black rage test. Pretty cool concept but near impossible to control and manage properly. The nice thing though, is that you don't need to have a ton of DC models, you just use your models as is since they've had no time to paint their armor, they just up and run off to find stuff to kill.
The sun never sets on a badass.
I'd say that they wouldn't be legal, as the Flesh Tearer special rules aren't tournament legal, and they were made for 3rd edition and are much less random and easier to manage than the Death Company army rules, and deal with the same basic army.
I've heard the FT rules are still legal but I doubt the DC army would be tourney legal, just a fun army to play with a friend or something. I would never want a FT fluff army for a tourney anyway, not versatile enough.
The sun never sets on a badass.
Well, I was out of luck when I tried to use them in a Rouge Trader Tournament this passed March. I was stuck with the Blood Angel rules (not that I'm complaining ).Originally Posted by ScottyDsntKnow
I agree with Firedrake, the DC army rules would definately not be tournie legal.
Very few Chapter Approved articles were tounrie legal even back in third ed, and as that one was 'experimental', I would not have expected it to be tournie legal back then.
However, there is nothing to stop you from using it in friendly games, just make sure your opponent knows what they are letting themselves in for :yes:
minus_t's painting log! Now with: More Wolves and Blue Robots!
Last updated 09/01/11
"Never before has another man made me want to go out and buy vasaline"~The Paint Monkey
"All I can remeber is Hazard stripes and -T's dusty brushes. ~danjones87