Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was recently playing a game of 40k against a SM player (I am IG) and he was using a whirlwind. It says the whirlwind is "ordanance barrage"... now, does that eman youi get to place the large blast template and flip it twice like a mortar? Because no one else in my local shop thinks thats how it works, but two of my friends (the ones playing against me..) were highly insistent you can flip the ordanance template around with a whirlwind...
there is no such thing as flipping ordnance templates with whirlwinds.
you have to nominate a target model and then roll for scatter. that's it. no flipping. please read up on the rules of ordnance and barrage weapons in the basic rulebook.
Shut up and play.
i thank you very much. very, very much. I mam seriosuly tired of an entire platoon of guardsmen getting annihilated by a single shot from a whirlwind... now just imagine when my friend took 3 whirlwinds and started dropping 9 pie plates a turn!
There is no more barrage for the whirlwind. It gets one shot of a large blast and a roll of scatter. Your opponent needs to seriously read up on his SM rules, and next time your not sure about something check the rulebook, or ask someone who you know knows the rules well. Hope you beat him next time
W-1 L-0 D-0
thanks, and for proof he was correct he did use the rulebook... on the page where it describes barage it shows a squad of ork boyz covered by the pie plates anbd shows scatter die of to the side.
That image is for the Multiple Barrage rule for firing squads of mortars.
As I suspected...
Actually the whirlwind IS ordnance barrage, its just not multiple blast. Ordnance barrage just means that the target takes any pinning tests at -1 Ld. If the whirlwind were Multiple blast as well then it would say so in the codex. I think the confusion came from the fact that all multiple blast weapons are "barrage" but not all "barrage" weapons are multiple blast.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
The only time you 'flip' the blast templates is when you're firing multiple barrage weapons from a single unit. A single mortar does not generate 3 small plates that are connected, but 3 mortars in a squad do. Similarly a Whirlwind does not generate 3 large pie plates that are connected, just one. If there was some way to turn multiple Whirlwinds into a single unit (which there isn't) then they could be fired as a battery and would therefore fire 3 large blasts that would be connected. That is the only way it would work as your friends thought.
Man do I wish barrages worked that way, I love me the fluff of barrage weapons . I also wouldn't mind my Basilisks or Whirlwinds being able to fire as batteries .