Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yeah I decided against the massed mechanized force. But I want to know what exactly I can induct. I know I can take a AF and inf platoon but. Can I take a HQ guard such as Lt. Schaffer, and can I take GK units if I have I lord.
The very existence of flame-throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.
Are you those people?
There's a list of units you can induct into the Witch Hunters army on page 26 in the grey box. You are only allowed those I believe if the parent list (ie: you are fulfilling the compulsory requirements with...) is Witch Hunters. The limitations on how many and what you need to get them is pretty much straight forward, just make sure you read it instead of skimming.
In other words, no you cannot take colonel schaffer or a regular Imperial Gaurd HQ choice as Inducted forces as these are not listed in the grey box of page 26. You are also required to take at last one normal Imperial Gaurd platoon in order to take an armoured fist, but I think you know this already, if not you do now.
In reference to the grey knights, you cannot induct them as there are no rules for this in the codex. But you can use them as allies however. Rules for this is present in the Daemon Hunters codex, but these are pretty much the same as Witch Hunter Allies rules as far as I can know as mentioned on page 25 of the Witch Hunters codex in the grey box.
If you want to use units that are not normally allowed via induction rules (ie; you want to use two Leman Russ's and beable to have access to senior officers) you can use sisters as an ally force, this means the parent force is either Daemon Hunters, Space Marines or Imperial Gaurd and all compulsory requirements have to be fullfilled from the respective codex. This does however limit you on how many choices you can take (note heavy support choices arn't even allowed if you choose to use witch hunters as allies). Again, refer to page 25 in the grey box for the rules.
As said, read the box. Only one correction of Heiromyo, you do NOT have to take a normal IG platoon for each Armoured Fist squad if you're inducting into WH. Otherwise good post =)Originally Posted by Heiromyo
"And that, my liege, is how we know the earth to be banana-shaped"
You can induct 2 AF squads no problem if you don't want an infantry platoon.
2 AF is the cheapest way to fulfill the requirements to access the cool stuff like Leman Russ and Rough Riders.
I give the squads Autocannons for good ranged fire power keeping to cover with a Book nearby. Then the Chimeras become a rolling barracade for seraphims or flagellants throwing out a reasonable amount of fire.
I took an Inquisitor Lord with two short ISS squads and then Inducted he rest of the force entirely of Space Marines. It worked pretty well. When I get off of deployment late next year I'll try it again.
"The sword that takes life gives life."
What about ForgeWorld Chimera patters - with autocannons for example - IG or DH choice?
I don't think you would be allowed different patterned chimeras through induction as these models do not belong to the Imperial Gaurd or Space Marine codex originally unless the Witch Hunters themselves can take these. (Again you are limited to what you can take in listed in the grey box and I beleieve these have to be boxed standard to the codex.)
However, if you chose to ally Witch hunters to the Imperial Gaurd forces you are allowed to use such models because the parent list then becomes the Imperial Gaurd who arn't restricted on what they can take. If the parent list can normally take such things then it would be allowed. Likewise if you chose to ally Daemon Hunters to Witch hunters and Daemon Hunters would normally have access to such vechicals (Not actually sure if this option is viable in Daemon hunters.)
Technically, no Forgeworld stuff is legal. At least not in tournaments. You always require your opponent's permission to use that stuff.
If it's an upgrade for a vehicle you have access to, I'd say that yes you can use it. So imo, IG DH and WH Chimeras can use the FW Chimera turret options - as long as you have your opponent's permission. But it's kinda a waste, since they'll never be allowed in tournaments...
Autocannon on Chimera is not in IG or DH codex. It is in the Inquisition forces part of Imperial Armour # 2 Forgeworld book only, and listed as a transport option for =][= or IST. It can take vehicle upgrades from either WH or DG codex so I assume that it can be used for both armies. As far as the crue - it says IG... I for sure would liek to take AC instead of ML or HB :yes: