Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Question: Does Prelim bombardment in normal games cost any points? How is it taken? I realise in COD it is a stratagem, but what about normal games? Thanks in advance for clarification...
Sierra Company, 74th Noctan Strike Regiment - The Meatshields!
I don't think it's available to IG unless you've got Witch Hunter (or possibly Daemon Hunters- I'm not totally up on the Ordos) allies, and even then, I'm not entirely sure.
I remember seeing the rules for it in one of the Ordos Codexes. Like I said, I'm pretty sure its Witch Hunters. Don't recall seeing it in the Guard Codex.
We all carry on,
When our brothers in arms are gone.
So raise your glass high
For tomorrow we die,
And return from the ashes you call.
The Ordo Hereticus and the Ordo Malleus have access to something called Orbital Bombardment and it's a Heavy Support choice for both the Witchunter and Daemonhunter armies and calls down a continuous rain of ordnance blasts around a piece of terrain selected before the game begins. It's got nothing to do with prelimiary bombardement.Originally Posted by DEADMARSH
Preliminary bombardment however is a scenario special rule - one that rarely gets played. Basically, in the main rulebook, there are a couple of missions that involve a defender and an aggressor taking/holding something, in some of these the aggressor can call in an artillery strike after deployment is done but before the game begins, in return, the defender gets some gamewise advantage in order to balance the game out for both players.
A note about the DH/WH Orbital Strike: since it is a Heavy Support choice, you can't use it in an allied contingent. So if you're playing an IG army with one or both of those Inquisition forces allied into it, you cannot use Orbital Strike. To use OS, your base army must be DH or WH.
Anyone else miss the old Preliminary Bombardment rules with had in 3rd edition? I loved using those...