Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It says that if charged, you get to charge your forces out at those charging you. However, you don't get the +1 A bonus normally received with a charge, but you get your "full compliment of attacks". How is this different than just letting them charge you? Your guys still get their basic Attk.
This allows your models to get into base to base contact. So your opponent arranges his model on the charge and then you get to bring any models not in base to base into contact with your oppoents unit. Essentially this allows a pile in before combat starts.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
So you go from really dispersed to avoid incoming blasts, to really compact to get your full complement of true grit attacks.
It's especially good to have on characters in squads, since your enemy can (and often will) choose to refrain from basing your character in order to prevent it from getting swings. Counter attack lets your character swing whether your opponent wants it to or not.
That being said, I'm not entirely positive that there's any way to give Marine characters counter attack--I'd have to check the rules more carefully. Chaos characters can do it, though.
The only bad thing about True Grit is that there will be times where perhaps you don't want to get more of your models into base to base contact than you already have. For example, if a BT Chappie squad charges in and can only engage 2 or 3 models out of your squad of 10. I would rather the squad slaughter those 2 models and then consolidate into the rest of my force, thereby losing the charge re-rolls concerning the rest of my force rather than have more of my men counterassault into range of the Chappie-led Terror. It is a good way to lose an entire squad.
"There will never be enough peace in the universe unless first there is enough war." - Farseer Eleuflin
The "Trust Your Battle Brothers" trait allows you to get your boys Counter-Attack as well as True Grit.Originally Posted by Bean
Is it also true that the unit charging loses the extra attack for charging? Someone was trying to convince me that's the way the rule works, but I don't read it like that.
Yes, but does it allow your characters to get it?Originally Posted by slamfu
What is the wording on the trait, exactly? Is that that any model with a bolter may buy it? Any model in a tactical, devastator, or command squad?
Space Marine HQ's have a very hard time getting veteran skills, and most of the traits don't change that. So, while I obviously know that you can give most of your marines Counterattack and True Grit, that's a very different thing than saying that you can give your space marine characters true grit.
It says you may give the skills to a Command Squad - this implies the entire Command Squad, which would include the attached character(s). Besides that, you can't give those characters the Trait, from what I can gather.Originally Posted by Bean
Most of the backup for this is the fact that the character is a member of the Command Squad, which is further implied in the Command Squad entry for other veteran skills.
Which is of course Why I enjoy playing Space wolves so much, everyone has counter-attack and a vast majority have true grit. On the question of counter-attack itself, I think the answer has pretty much already been obtained. It allows you to pile men into close combat when they would ordinarily not be able to. A useful ability to be sure when you're CC oriented.Originally Posted by Bean
Gargrimz Green Deff
W:10 D:4 L:5