Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm wondering if there is a way, in a Space Marine army to take a Rhino or a Razorback on it's own... without it being part of a squad. I looked all through the Codex and the Rule book and I couldn't find anything.
The only thing I can think of is there is a drawback which says that all transports take up a fast attack slot.... So if I took this drawback could I take a razorback (in a fast attack slot) without having a squad in it?
The reason I'm asking, is I have an idea for a list that while maybe not terrably effective, would be really fun the first time you played it against somone.
In a higher point game (1500 to 2000) field 3 razorbacks and 1 or 2 land raiders. Here is the catch... they are empty.
Drop pod all your squads behind him, so he is stuck between your vehicles and your troops. The drop pods are not expensive, so it add very little to the cost of the squad. His forces will probably not be depolyed in a way to offer any protection agaisnt this, as during his 1 or 2 turns of movement he was dealing with the Land Raider (which I'm sure he thinks has some big scary squad in it)
Again, I'm not saying this is some tourny winning stratagy, but it would be fun, and the look on your opponents face when on turn 1 or 2 (when he is out of position to handle DPed troops) he blows up a Razorback to find it empty would be worth the whole battle.
Nope, this is not possible.
Those transports can still only be taken as dedicated transports, with that drawback - they are still dedicated to the unit they are bought for, they only count as a Fast Attack choice at the same time.
The only transports you can get, as an SM player, that aren't dedicated, are Land Raiders or Crusaders.
I figured, but it would have been a hella fun army. And I don't think it will work with only LR's cause you have to have enough transports for your oppenent to believe that all of your points are inside.
One thing to keep in mind is that units do not need to be deployed in their dedicated transports. So if you can work it, maybe take two dedicated transports with some squads that deploy on the field (like dev squads). Deploy the dev squads outside the transports and then put all your tact squads in drop pods. Then take the LR/LRC's as heavy supports.
I think this will be the only way you can pull of your idea. It will catch people by surprise the first time if you can keep your list secret. It's definitly an interesting idea, you get props for it.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
Hmm... My original idea was to only put transports on the field, to not have any kind of "static firebase" but your idea is a great one... and would even make the army look "more real" as far as catching my oppenent by surprise with the drop pods. but that leaves less points to drop. Still...it might be do-able this way. Thank you.
Also, if you have a squad that takes a transport option, but you do not start them deployed inside the vehicle... how do you set them up? are they both placed on the table at the same time?
Last edited by Sinjin; September 18th, 2006 at 21:36.
yes, they are both placed at the same time.
Take life seriously, its lethal.
:huh:Originally Posted by Sinjin
And you naturally assumed that, because it didn't say you can't that you can.
tsk tsk tsk.
There are some members around these forums with it in their sigs:
You can't take a dedicated transport as a lone unit. :blink: Is there a 'transport' slot in the FoC? No. Are the Rhino, Razorback, or Drop pod listed under anything but 'transports' in the codex? No, saying a squad doesn't count... That's right, no.
- What's next people? Debating about what actually rolling the dice means because GW didn't define the act of rolling as throwing the die to reach a random number, then arguing that it's therefore acceptable to simply place the die on the table with the selected side facing up?
- People, seriously, read your rulebooks, it's all there.
- The rules laid out in the rulebook are binding to everything unless the Codex says otherwise. But ONLY then.
- Post Army lists in the Army list section!
Don't mean to soind rude or abrasive, it's the way I word my posts, I'm not pissed off ar anything.:yes:
Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!