Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
there are three phases to a round right? move, shoot, assualt
so in order to benefit from the Holy Relic all you have to do is skip your move phase with the unit("can't move") instead i suppose you are busy whipping it out...
am i undestanding this correctly?
it means you can still Shoot and Assault right?
Could you clarify where it refers to this in the DH codex, maybe then we could effect some answers for you...
As far as I know, you can activate a relic whenever (including opponent's phase), and whether or not you moved. Besides, I don't like the idea of assaulting without prior movement in the movement phase.
"Look, we spontaneously jump at you without preparation!..." Bleagh!:x
You can only use the relic if you don't move at all for the entire turn. This means no movement in the movement phase and no assault in the assault phase. The rule doesn't say that can't shoot however. Most players don't use it because it's only good for defense and a little expensive to be used for such a purpose.
1500 years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the Universe
500 years ago everybody knew the world was flat
5 minutes ago you knew humans were alone on the planet
Imagine what you'll know tomorrow
I read it the same way as Phoenix Guard does. The item's description doesn't say that you can activate it when foregoing the movement phase, it says you can activate it when you don't move during a turn. You can't use the item and move, or use the item and charge - shooting is still alright, though, as long as you're outside of melee.
Basically, you use it when your GKT unit gets charged during your opponent's turn, or if you're stuck in a prolongued assault on your own turn.
If GW didn't want you to move at all (ie in the movement phase as well as the assault phase.) Why didn't they just say "to be used only when assaulted".
"assaulting" is not "moving" is my point moving(ie the movement phase is moving...)
I've used the holy relic before so hopefully I can assist here in clarification:
~ Holy Relic is mostly useful for a DS unit, where after they drop in they cannot move anyways, they shoot, and cannot assault. Normally, pending on the DS position, the enemy will charge one of their squads into yours, at this point you active the holy relic, roll the 2d6 (which should cover the whole squad), and effectivley it's like you charged (gaining the +1 attack bonus). (This works best with termies as 30 points for +1 attack better be used for power weapons to make it count).
~ Holy Relic can also be used for a walking unit that becomes stagnant in cover (moves but then plants in terrain awaiting to be assaulted).
Other than those two circumstances, it really is a point waste as for the price of a holy relic, you could be fielding another Grey Knight...
----your call in the end though, hope that helped----
5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0
so ,according to the idea that "all" types of movement are not allowed in the turn, it would be impossible to consolidate should you wipe out your opponent? since consolidating is moving
sorry i still disagree
(however it is i m o a diff part of the game turn just as shooting is diff from moving and assaulting)
(good advice on uses though)
Grey Nut, I've been noticing you seem to "bump" up threads you've created, after the sit for a month or so of inactiviy, to ask another question. Whilst it is good to not spam the forum with questions, if you could please make sure to ask your next question with in a few days of the most recent post, it keeps the forum tidier, and doesn't stir up old topcis, for the same things to be said again.
Holy relic is mentioned in the IG Errata, and there it clearly states that the moving takes place in the movement phase.
One could argue of course that the DH have access to heavier and more complicated Relics, but I think it is safe to assume that it can be used and the unit flashing it around still can charge in the assault phase.