Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
With the priest's reule of Righetous Fury, the unit that includes the priest must charge in the assault phase. Does Righteous Fury over rule other rules about charges such as disembarking, rapid firing, and the like?
In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?
He who allows the alien to live,
shares its crime of existence.
Yeah, its a weird case. There's several ways to interpret this (unless its handled in the FAQ, which I dont have on me and haven't read in a while).
Firstly, would be to say that if any rapid-fire weapons were fired during the shooting phase, then the unit cannot assault, as you cannot fire rapid-fire weapons and then assault. That would be a nifty means of avoiding unwanted close combat.
Secondly, would be to say that you cannot fire rapid-fire weapons if a priest is present in the squad AND that squad is in charge range, as the wording of the codex suggests that you, meaning that the units actions must be organised to ensure that this occurs.must charge in the assault phase if there are enemy within reach
Legally, you could probably get away with option 1, however I feel that it is unfluffy, and unspirited to not use option 2. The only problem I have with option 2 is that it relies on your ability to correctly judge 6 inches, as you cannot pre-measure a charge, before the assault phase anyway, and if you measure during the shooting phase it counts as though you have shot, whether you do or not.
So yeah, all in all i'm not really much help here I guess
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
IMO, the rule referes to the actual possibility. If a unit i.e. rapid fires, it is written in the rules that they cannot charge. If they hadn't fired their weapons, they would be forced to charge. Thats why it doesnt't make sense to use lasguns in a squad that has a priest attached to.