Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
With the Deathwatch rules going to PDF, (http://us.games-workshop.com/games/4...ch/default.htm)
I read and started wondering if the Deathwatch Marines of Ordo Xenos would fall under the Sisters of Battle "No Boys Allowed" rule, or if like the Grey Knights of Ordo Malleus, the Dethwatch might work.
My first reaction is: no, they're marine boys. boys have cooties, and girls will refuse to play with them.
then again, Grey Knights are boys, maybe the =I= forces can all work together.
The Deathwatch rules weren't a lot of help. It merely states that the Deathwatch can be taken in a Witchhunters army. So can normal Space Marines, The Girls refuse to come play then.
I know I can definately use the Deathwatch Kill team with a non-SoB WH army.
But with a Sisters Army, can you use the Deathwatch Space Marines? Rules wise.
or is the Space Marine prohibition only apply to Inducted Space Marines?
the codex reads: "Allied Space Marines may not be used if any Adepta Sororitas unit is present in the Witch Hunters force"
The Deathwatch rules state: "Up to one Kill Team can be included in any Imperium Army as an HQ choice"
Can you legally have both Sisters of Battle and Deathwatch marines in the same armylist?
I know fluff-wise you can usually find reasons why they would be there.
I think I self-answered my question in the first post.
the rules really don't explicitly prohibit the combination.
Well, I was looking at those rules, and as much as I like the fluff, I find myself hard pressed to use such an expensive HQ squad.
Sure, 2 HBs shooting on the move (with the cool 2+ to wound regardless of enemy T) plus a squad of Bolters that can re-roll to-wound dice (with special ammo) sounds sweet, but the points.... Hmm... Maybe I am just plain cheap and spoiled by 11pts SOBs?!?
As I see the rules you can use them with SOBs no problem, and they might be worth exploring, but treat them carefully - I set up a squad of 8 of them (two HBs, special ammo for all, Captain with Power Fist) at 290 pts.... That is at least two nice squads of SOBs.... Yes? No?
i think it would be ok to use them, but as stated, i would rarely use them due to the points. I could see them working well in a footslogging army, as it provides good support, but it doesnt work out really for those (like me) who play mech SOB
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
A friend of mine and I were tossing around this idea as a way to shake up a long range shooty opponent, like Tau.
It's one way a SoB army can Drop Pod a Librarian with Fear of the Dark in close to the Tau, and send them running. They usually hide behind plenty of cover, jump, fire, jump. Chewing up whatever they happen to be able to get LoS on.
besides, the Deathwatch are like a new toy, and we were brainstorming on how they'd fit. Then we really wondered if they were too expensive.
Assault3 Heavy bolters, and re-rolls on wounds, or ap4 bolters are tempting.... esp. dropping behind enemy lines.
I think most SoB players wonder what it might be like to be able to drop pod on top of the enemy. or to Teleport Terminators behind the enemy. (esp. Grey Knight Termies)
I think that the "Suspender" Heavy Bolters get only two shots, but I might be wrong. If you want the Drop Pods or teleporting, you could also take GK or GK Termies - not sure of the stats or point difference... But they do not have the Librarian, do they? So yes, interesting option, even if not too cheap...
If you look at the listings in the DH Codex, drop pods are not listed. They can deep strike by teleport, but not Drop Pod. Now, if they update the 'dex... well, we will have to see.
Points? Oh, GKs are MUCH more expensive... Termies, not so much.
Last edited by SentryKiller; October 10th, 2006 at 02:23. Reason: added info
Originally Posted by Montford981