Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok all, my local store is beginning a new tourney league in March so for the next year and for the LA Grand Tourney I want to take a radical daemonhunter army with relictors. Havent seen anyone do it yet, and its looking rather dangerous, so i want to start alittle discussion on radicals and relictors in general and see what everyone thinks.
To begin alittle background on Relictors for those of you going who in the eye of terror are they?!?!
They are a space marine chapter that uses chaos items against chaos, just like radical inquistors. They get to use one daemon weapon and one daemon banner in their army. Beyond that they are vanilla space marines.
Questions I have and i hope someone knows is.
Can they use daemon weapons in the CSM codex?
IF I take relictors and use allied inquistors can i take daemonhosts for elites, and then a callidus as a relictor elite? or does the 0-1 apply?
The relictor rules say one daemon weapon but the inquistor has some daemon weapon options as well that came out in WD 287 but can you have two daemon weapons in the army this way?
I dont have the WD 280 that their rules came in but I know their rules, what i dont know though is if in the 280 it had some relictor wargear items? If so can i get a summary? I have the WD 287 with the other radical/relictor items we can talk about later too.
after this is cleared up ill post my list and get some constructive criticism.
I actually had pretty much the same plan as this, use the Relictors as a the chapter and ally Radicals, very cool eh.
I can answer some of your questions:
1: Yes, the use Deamon weapons from the Codex but you do not get to chose which one you get at any givin battle, you have to roll a D6 before the battle to find out what one you do get and then your to look it up in the CSM codex (Seems like a dirty way to get people who want to play them to buy the Codex but what can yea do)
2: I don't really know the for sure answer to this so i'll do my best. If you have Codex Assassins then you may take a assassin as a Elite and hence free up the DH Elite slot for your Deamon Hosts so its legal.
3: Ok, this one i'm in the dark about, but the Relictors "Codex" says that you may designate one Character to hold the Deamon weapon in an army but if the Inquisitor himself can take one independantly then it sounds as if it should be legal to work in two Deamon weapons this way.
4: The only wargear listed in my copy is the information on what D6 number means what Icon or Deamon Weapon. Everything else is just selected from the Codex Space Marines.
I thought CH supercedes C:A? Like, if you use DH, you can't use any rules out of C:A? I may be completely wrong though.2: I don't really know the for sure answer to this so i'll do my best. If you have Codex Assassins then you may take a assassin as a Elite and hence free up the DH Elite slot for your Deamon Hosts so its legal.
hmm, but then in white dwarf 287 their is some new relictor/radical inquistor get some new wargear called 'dark artifacts." Ill parapharase a few of my favorites.
Artekus Scourge, reictor only daemon weapon, power weapon but if a model takes a wound and has more then one wound has to pass a 3d6 leadership or die.
then heres two that relictors or inquistors can take
Grimoire Pandaemonica The bearer forces his opponent to reroll daemonic possession or one summoning roll each turn.
Blade of Phaedron wounds all demons on anything but, and he gets +d3 on a charge vs demons. Power weapon/daemon weapon too.
Their were 6 total artifacts 2 relictor only, 1 radical inquistor only and 4 for either and none of them are over 25 pts.
So now based on what you said about random how do these new daemon weapons work into that? they can take these ones straight up i assume? disregarding the random roll.
This is also where i find the possibilty of two daemon weapons in an army. The inquistor can have say Phaedron and my Relictor Librarian can take Artekus.
The rules for these dark artifacts say they are rare and any army can only have ONE OF EACH. But, under daemon weapons it says only one per army...hmm...might have to ask the trolls on this one.
Meglo: Ah, so it does, they've updated the FAQ.
Orius, I think this is a time to consult the Boyz, But it sounds like you can only take one deamon weapon.
holy crap just looking at those weapons is making me drool. If anyone plans to do a radical daemonhunters army, tell me how it goes i would like to get into it myself.
You know what they say, if you dont like the weather in houston...go back to where you came from
This sounds like an awesome army - I'd love to see an army list - hint hint
Ack, *gags* Radical... *twitches*... Chaos corrupts don't you know that?
But if you must use radicals then I suggest Daemonhosts (as they rule! and Death Cultists as they're just plain vicious fun... (are Death Cultists 0-1 I can't remember sigh, if only I were at home with my Codex). Remember you can take both an Inquisitor Lord (as your HQ choice) and an Inquisitor as an Elite choice. Giving you access to tons of wargear and lots of plasma weapons. Scourging and holocaust are good choices as is word of the emperor if you're fighting demons and hammer hand... well hammer hand is just plain good
I adopted a cute lil' poison fetus
from Fetusmart! Hooray fetus! </a>
ok im going to finalize the list in a bit and do the numbers but i figure id post my general thoughts and see what others think.
I want the army to be more CC oriented, especially since ll be using daemonhosts and they are all about CC.
My HQ squads are a given I need to have a Relictor Librarian, since their fluff says they have a plethora of librarians
the other givens are an inquistor lord and daemon hosts, but how should the format be?
relictor with drop pods maybe?
or an all mounted force with rhinos, razorbacks the typical space marine thing?
I like the all mounted approach - I almost went that route with my GT army but decided on pure GK instead