Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, in the update for Dark Angels it says to replace the dreadnaught listing with the one from the new space marines codex. Does that mean that the mortis dread is no longer valid. Also if it is, can it have two heavy bolters or is it TL Heavy Bolters?
The DA codex for 3rd/4th Edition has never allowed a Mortis Pattern Dreadnought. Mortis' reside only in Imperial Armour by Forgeworld.
You do use the Codex SM Dreadnought listing, with the options for Assault Cannon/Multi-Melta/TLLC on one side and DCCW/ML on the other.
If you want to use a Mortis get the rules from Forgeworld but bear in mind that FW stuff is usualy non tournament valid and you'll need your opponents permission.
Every time you read this sig: a fairie dies!
I wanted to use a Hell Blade in this Team Tourny in feb, but the GW manager said no due to the ammount of people coming from out-of-town for the event, any other RTT he said sure. I guess it just depends on who's running it tho.
Never heard of mortis dread in any of the normal rules. I do know that we can upgrade the assault cannon for a plasma cannon. Is that what you were thinking of?
Sleeping, not dead.
Removed by the moderators.
Even though I dont have the rules, I converted up a two twin-linked autocannon mortis dreadnought a while back. Might not be the most effective (although, at 4 twin linked shots, its great vs light vehicles), but it sure does look sweet!
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
OK Mortis Dread is an elite choice for the DA, and can be armed with two twin-linked Heavy Bolters, two twin-linked Lascannons, two twin-linked Autocannons (the best all round choice) or two Missile launchers. Two Plasma Cannons aren't available unfortunately. Normal vehicle upgrade like extra armour and smoke are available too.
Rules can be found in Imperial Armour 2, page 142. Note that if tourny/store/club rules precludes Forge World stuff then you can't use it so ask organisers first.
Rumours are that the Mortis will become an 'official' elite option in the new DA Codex â€“ we'll wait and see if that one is true.
Can a Mortis dread be used in a custom SM chapter's 1st Company?