Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This crossed my mind the other day when making a list and burning extra points on a terminator librarian....
If you have a terminator librarian with fury of the ancients and an auspex, what happens if you manage to spot them with the auspex? The rules state that you may shoot normally, does this apply to FoTa, as it IS a shooting attack but is different as you have to take a psychic test? (starts turning wheels in head - pinning infiltrators for 1st turn = :yes: )
thanks for the help!
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
Yes you can use FotA to shoot at infiltrators.
The Auspex lets the character (and the unit he is with) take a "free shot" outside of the turn sequence. Some psychic powers are used instead of shooting.
So I don't see why you shouldn't be able to use FotA to shoot at infiltrators.
EDIT: Forged beat me to it.
Shut up and play.
I'm going to be the odd ball and say "No, you may not."
The way I read it, the psychic power specifically states the phase that it is used in. It does not say "Treat this power like a ranged weapon." It states that it's a power used in the Shooting phase instead of firing a weapon.
Since the auspex 'Free Shot' is taken outside of the Shooting Phase, I believe it to be an illegal combination.
Anything Psyker related is dodgy. I would say no, to be on the safe side. The chances of actualy spotting someone and doing anything with FotA is ok, but I can live without it.
The 'Auspex' turn is outside the norm.
Edit: Depends how clever your opponent is and how persuasive you are.
Last edited by Silver Wings; October 30th, 2006 at 21:00.
Every time you read this sig: a fairie dies!
The same would apply to free shots you can take because of Mystic Henchmen for Inquisitors, I guess.
Shut up and play.
I personally think thats fairer way to describe the effects of an auspex.
Especially considering that an auspex shouldnt allow you to just point your power down the field, and blast away.
Still, terminators are one of the best units to give an auspex to.
yup, the assault cannons will rip through those nosy scouts.
aside from that, how often does your opponent actually set up infiltrators with in LOS? it doesnt happen often in my games
In response to Hovoc.
Fury of the Ancients states that you draw a line across the field, and it hits every enemy model and stops when you hit one of your own, you never actually have to have line of sight, its is just following a line.
As to the Auspex, I would also agree that you could not. Now if the Auspex said you gained a free shooting phase against the infiltrators, then you could and it would be fair game. Outside of that, so sad too bad. I would have liked it if the Auspex did work that way though.