Another Question... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Another Question...

    Sorry for more questions but It says in the iron discipline doctrine that "may regroup even if below 50% strength" Does that mean only when they where using the Officers leadership and failed or if, say, they where in close order drill and failed? Just to get it sorted...
    Thanks,(yet again) Ork


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Microcosm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    31
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    well, as iron disciplin is trasfered by an officer, it should use the officers moral check. The close order drill +1 MW does come to bear too, IMO, as it is an additional bonus.

    mark that only squads in range of the officer's leadership benefit from the iron disciplin rule.

  4. #3
    Set Sail and Conquer! Cadaver Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,633
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    301 (x7)

    First, when re-grouping via the Iron Discipline skill (on the turn after they broke), you cannot use the bonus conferred by close order drill (COD), as that only increases the UNITS Ld, and does not work combined with the officers Ld, as stated in the COD doctrine.

    Basically, you have to choose which Ld to use when regrouping (like with most other Ld tests), if your squad is above 50% strength you can use their own (adding any bonuses for close order drill etc...).

    Or, you can use an officer's Ld, even when squad strength is below 50% if the officer also has Iron Discipline. Remember to make sure the squad actually has access to the officer's leadership first.

    And in direct answer to your question, it is not actually relevant whether they broke whilst in close order drill, or whilst using the officer's Ld, or when the whole squad suddenly comes down with food poisoning after stealing and sharing the ogryn squad's leftovers. Re-grouping can only happen at the start of each successive turn AFTER the turn they break.

    As far as I know anyway

    Hope this helps. Enjoy!
    "Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"

    Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    So basically if the officer was dead the squad could not re group if below 50% strength? Thanks

  6. #5
    Senior Member Microcosm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    31
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    that's right.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts