Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, after thinking carefully about my next army ive decided on witch hunters. Im going to read as many threads here as possable before joining in but I have a question im hoping can be answered before I buy the codex.
I want to take WH as my base, include daemonhunters, and also take a deathwatch kill team. Is this legal? Im pretty sure from what ive read that it is, I just want to be certain! Also will the death watch have to be taken as standard marines?
As far as I'm aware, you can't bring both DH and a Killteam in as allies to a WH list - you're only allowed one allied force on any list. You can use one or the other legally, just not both.I want to take WH as my base, include daemonhunters, and also take a deathwatch kill team. Is this legal? Im pretty sure from what ive read that it is, I just want to be certain! Also will the death watch have to be taken as standard marines?
Also, remember that Killteams are composed of Space Marines - preventing you from taking SoB (or GK, if you decide to have a DH + Killteam army instead).
If you want inducted models, you've got to use the EXACT units listed in the WH or DH codex. So if you want inducted Marines, you're limited to Tactical Squads, Dreadnoughts, etc. No HQs, no characters, no Killteams, nothing like that. Just the units listed in the Inquisition codices.
Check the link in my sig, I've done a rundown on how you can combine allies.
Mega, that link in your sig is extremely useful!! I bought both DH and WH codices to create an army, but the more I read/played I decided on strictly WH. Though I still think a WH/DH army would be cool.
But anyways. Quick question, hopefully you can answer, as you seem to have a lot of experiance with allies.
According to the Deathwatch rules, it states that one Kill team can be taken as an HQ choice in a Daemonhunter or WH army.
So couldn't he technically use one in a WH army w/ DH allies? Or am I reading it wrong?
You know, I think you're actually right, now that I went and read the pdf. I was under the impression that Deathwatch teams were used as allies, but it seems that they can be part of the core list itself.
It seems that you can use a base DH (or WH) army, with a Deathwatch Killteam as an HQ choice, AND WH (or DH) allies. I'm not sure how inducted IG/SM factor into things here, although I'd say no IG (since you're already using SM, and you're only allowed one or the other in a DH or WH army). And I'd also say that you cannot use Grey Knights (or So in the base army, since you cannot use them in conjunction with SM.
Sorry for the mixup! The Deathwatch rules are a bit outside the standard ruleset, being outside of any codex themselves.
They don't need any Inquisitors to lead them, actually.
The rules are on GW US's website, in the Space Marine section.
Or if GW would ever release the Ordo Xenos codex (I know, I'm wishing here), then there wouldn't be a question. From my limited understanding, the Deathwatch are a part of that Ordo, and would automatically be an ally to any other Ordo.
Link: Games Workshop - Space Marines
Originally Posted by Montford981