Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Played my mate (a necron) the other day and went to take down his monolith with my dread, who had a c/c stormbolter/halberd and he said that I had to attack it with the unmodified strenth 6, as all modified strengths against it are taken at base.
I argued that the base strength of the weapon he was using was 10, he said that it wasnt and that it was even stated somewhere etc. in the interest of a happy game and actually completing it I agreed and continued, but I think he is wrong...
Am I right?
You were right (unless this has been FAQ:ed) as the Monolith neglects, lance weapons and the extra armour penetration dice from like Meltas, Chainfists and MCs, nothing mentioned about PowerFists or DDCW.
EDIT: I should have looked more carefully...
All Dreadnoughts' base strength is 6 - the DCCW works like a powerfist, doubling the S (up to the game's max of 10). Just look at the statline - anything in parentheses is a modified stat.
That said, your friend is still wrong. The Monolith has a special rule that prevents any weapons from A) lowering it's AV and using extra penetration dice (such as meltaguns). Nowhere does it say anything about using unmodified strengths and the like. So you DO use S10 for a DCCW versus a Monolith.
The Dread CCW (fist) is S10. The Monolith negates doubling Strength items like Chain Fists, but your Dreads CCW is S10 for taking down the 'Lith.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
Sweet, yeah i thought it was all a bit silly.
Oh well, my Eversor Assasin had the last laugh, destroying it in the final turn *insert evil cackle*
the faq for necrons under monoliths state that bonus pen and double scores are the same... and technically the dread's S is base 6, and on page 73 of the 4th ed book it says that a dread in CC doubles it's CC up to 10... so isn't that a "double score"?
I myself have had the same thing pop up when playing a mates necrons.
I finally convinced him that the base strength of the DCCW is 10. if that weapon is destroyed then yes i'd have to use strength 6 of the dread himself.
To put into another senario, say i was using a 6 man squad with a lasconnon shooting at the Lith, i'd be hitting it with a strength 9 weapon, now if that guy with the las got taken out i'd no longer be able to use it would i?? i'd have to use the S4 bolter instead.
The DCCW is a strength 10 weapon, so therefore my understanding is that yes you can use it, but would still have to hit on a 6 as per skimmer rules. Otherwise really it just makes the Lith too hard to take down, would really just make it ridiculous IMHO.
Hope this helps, feel free to dispute my thoughts though.:ninja:
Last edited by Vanilla_Dice; November 6th, 2006 at 02:17.
SON'S OF TERRA......... Your defeat, its the emperor's will