Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have an idea about multiple unit assault form land raider, but I dont know if this is allowed by rules.
I would have Librarinan attached to veteran marine squad, then attached Techmarine and all this placed in Land Raider crusader, bought as heavy support.
My plan is to move LRC to assault range of multiple unit, then disembark squad in from front hatch and both characters detached from squad, each on one side hatch of LRC.
So they could target and assault multiple enemies.
My question is: Is it possible to make both disembarking and detaching characters in one turn? Rules are a bit complicated about this, detaching should be move out of squad coherence, but could I say that I detach character and disembark it out of coherence?
This is a really interesting idea, i don't see why you couldn't do it, but i could be wrong.
Props for your creativity though, whether its allowed or not, will read my rules tonight and get back to you.:shifty:
SON'S OF TERRA......... Your defeat, its the emperor's will
First off, you can assault multiple squads anyway, first you must move the closest model to the closest enemy model. There after your only restriction is staying in coherency.
So you dont need the leaders to leave the squad. However if you want to do this, its legal, you allowed to declare the Indepedant charactor is leaving the squad at the end of the moment phase (thus when you get out of the tank,) Then you can shoot and assault seperate targets, but of course, your charactors are now on their own.
Tactically, i dont think this is an effective use of points.
I would say.... nnnno.
1) The unit moves inside the vehicle (the vehicles movement).
2) In order to leave the unit the character must move away from the unit.
All in all two moves, hence illegal.
Edit: corrected the wrongs
Last edited by Ratus; November 9th, 2006 at 21:18.
Forged is right, you can leave a squad without moving out of coherency and charge multiple units with a single unit, the only restriction being that the first model to charge from your unit must charge the closest enemy model of his targetted enemy squad (ie, the squad he shot at, if any). This sounds like a good idea to me, although perhaps a Chaplain would be better than a Librarian, keeping the Chappie attached to the Vets would be cool. And mean. Very mean.
I would like to contest this as in BGB p. 50 under the headline "Characters joining & leaving units" it specificly states that a character leaves a unit in just this way (by moving out of coherency).
But I am open for rules or erratas that say otherwise.
I say the answer is, possibly. Disembarking occurs in the movement phase so does detaching a character. If you detach the character and have it placed out of unit coherency upon disembarking then it is detached and can assault it's own unit. However, there's limited space when disembarking and it may not be possible to get the IC out of coherency upon disembarkation. Although the LR/LRC definitly has a lot more space than the Rhino.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
A transport can only transport one unit at a time so the IC must be attached inside the vehicle. It states in BGB p.62 that the unit must disembark within 2" and in unit coherency. So I'm sticking with my theory.
Obviously, one does both at once. You declare an IC is leaving the unit, and place him outside the transport, away from the unit, he leaves while disembarking. However, this is tactically a bad idea, one gains no advantage in doing this.A transport can only transport one unit at a time so the IC must be attached inside the vehicle. It states in BGB p.62 that the unit must disembark within 2" and in unit coherency. So I'm sticking with my theory.
The disembarkment isn't a move. The movement is made by the vehicle. But all of this is splitting hairs.
I agree that it is tactically unsound.