Black Templar allies - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    27
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Black Templar allies

    Can Witch Hunters ally with Black Templars?

    Their fluff would suggest they can, but rules say otherwise.

    The Black Templars' "Abhor The Witch" states that Black Templars will not ally to any army that includes any models with psychic powers, with the exception of Grey Knight Space Marines. The Inquisitors have the "Psyker" special rule. However the second line of the first dot-point of the "Using Witch Hunters as Allies" rule states that Black Templars can ally.



    It's just a flesh wound!

    Arrr!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    And why not?

    The simple answer is yes, they can. Do you have the WH codex? Cause it says right in there, that WH can ally with any chapter of SMs, only when SM's ally with WH do they lose chapter distinctions.

    Just don't forget that from the WH codex you can only take

    0-1 HQ
    0-1 Elites
    0-2 Troops
    0-1 Fast Attack.

    Cheers!

  4. #3
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    Well, Codex: BT is newer than Codex: WH. Remember that codices (and FAQs) take precedance in the order of their publication - new overwrites old.

    We used to be able to ally onto a Dark Angels army, according to the DH and WH codices, but the new DA FAQ says otherwise. And hell, according to the DH codex you cannot combine DH and WH - while the newer WH codex says otherwise, and this is the rule used by GW.

    You *may* use WH as allies for a Black Templar army, but you cannot include any models with the special rule "psyker" in the allied force. So don't bring your Inquisitor Lords.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Wolverine State
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    The rule specifically says you can't models with psychic powers, but that doesn't prohibit you from having Inquisitors. If your don't give your Inquisitor a psychic power then he doesn't fall under that rule. If it said you couldn't have psykers that would be a different story, but that's not what it says.

  6. #5
    Back in action! Lord Yossanrion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia, reading "Make-Out Paradise."
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,833
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    206 (x6)

    The Black Templars can ally in rules terms as shown below.

    For fluff, just pair them with some really Zealous =][= guy - you know, one of those fellows that thinks astropaths should be burned.

    Then, you're set.
    Anzac Clan!
    Final Fantasy!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Red Zinfandel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    962
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC View Post
    And hell, according to the DH codex you cannot combine DH and WH - while the newer WH codex says otherwise, and this is the rule used by GW.
    Your DH Codex is old.

    THrow the DH FAQ away. It is superseeded by the newer DH Printing, which contains the phrase "with the exception of other detachments and units from other Ordos of the Inquisition".

    It took me a long time to realize that was what they meant through all the smoke and mirrors. And it's so much easier to prove now that they finally corrected it in the latest printing. Check it out.

    It's all one big happy inquisition.


    For that matter, I saw an older NEcron Codex that said, "the monolith can fire two weapons at once" and I thought, "hmmm, that is exatly wrong from what I recall" and sure enough I opened mine (which was newer) and saw, "the monolith mat NOT fire two weapons at once".

    How do such huge changes slip by realitively unnoticed?
    Why is an outadated FAQ still on their site?
    those sneaky sneaky people...
    Sisters Repentia: Wow what beautiful models! Wow what terrible rules! -stjohn70

  8. #7
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Zinfandel View Post
    Your DH Codex is old.

    THrow the DH FAQ away. It is superseeded by the newer DH Printing, which contains the phrase "with the exception of other detachments and units from other Ordos of the Inquisition".

    It took me a long time to realize that was what they meant through all the smoke and mirrors. And it's so much easier to prove now that they finally corrected it in the latest printing. Check it out.

    It's all one big happy inquisition.
    I, uh, never said otherwise

  9. #8
    Senior Member MarxusTharin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    456
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    55 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC View Post
    You *may* use WH as allies for a Black Templar army, but you cannot include any models with the special rule "psyker" in the allied force. So don't bring your Inquisitor Lords.
    Actually, The BT codex says they may not take any Psycher with the exception of Grey Knights.. Grey Knights are found as part of the Inquisitor Hand Book, thus Inquisitors are part of the Grey Knights..

    And since WH are also part of the inquisitors, focusing on the sisters of battle, they should be included in that.

  10. #9
    Member Oiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    25 (x1)

    Not quite. You're right in saying that Grey Knights are the only psykers the Black Templar will suffer. However you are wrong about Inquisitors. By 'Grey Knights' the Black Templar codex is refering to any psyker that has the 'Grey Knight' special rules. The Inquisitors don't, they are daemon-hunters of the Ordo Malleus but are not Grey-Knights.

    In response to the original question, it would be highly acceptable for Black Templar to ally with Adeptus Sororitas and Ecclechaisary models (i.e priests) but not inquisitors. They'd all have something in common to moan about though...
    Last edited by Oiad; March 10th, 2010 at 13:20.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts