Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a space marine with a heavy weapon fire that weapon the same turn they arrive in, and disembark the drop pod?
Drop Pods count as deep striking. Units that deep strike count as moving.
The squad disembarks from the drop pod. Disembarking counts as moving.
edit: Oh, and welcome to the boards Enjoy your stay.
minus_t's painting log! Now with: More Wolves and Blue Robots!
Last updated 09/01/11
"Never before has another man made me want to go out and buy vasaline"~The Paint Monkey
"All I can remeber is Hazard stripes and -T's dusty brushes. ~danjones87
Thanks thats what i thought, but was hoping i was wrong.
I think Termies are an exception though......
It's really very simple. read the rules for Drop Pod in Codex: Space Marines page 21. It is very difficult to be confused on this if you own the book and read the rule.
There is a reason cleanse and purify is a frequently used trait for drop pod armies. :yes:
Considering the random nature of reserves, and that you can't shoot heavies the turn you drop; going two special can be quite useful.
Not to mention it nicely specializes the squad, making its tactical role obvious.
- two meltas for MEQ baking, anti tank work and assaulting squads
- two plasma for MEQ/MC killing, static squads
- two flamers for Tau/eldar barbeques
My 1500 list has two melta and one plasma tactical squads with power fists.
No. Disembarking counts as moving, power armoured marines and scouts cannot fire heavy weapons and move. However.....
Terminators can .
Deathwatch squads can use suspensors on heavy bolters so they can fire and move also, but at reduced range.
Hope this clarifies.:yes:
Funny thing, Drop Pods are not deep striking. Different rule, very similar in their workings. That being said, it's fairly obvious in the DP rules that you cannot fire a heavy weapon on the turn you land.