Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm sorry if i missed it somewhere, but i'm confused:wacko:, I read in the Assassins codex that any Imperial Army can field them. Is it true? And does it still apply to the current edition? Also, would it be wise to add an assassin into an army that i'm making?
Any and all help would be greatly appreciated :yes:
The assassins codex hasn't been legal for a while now.
There is still one way you can get an assassin though.
You can take an allied Inquisitor LORD as allied HQ from either the daemonhunters or witchhunters codex. You can then also add in an allied Elites assassin. You need to buy that inquisitor lord 1st though (taking up a HQ slot) and forfeit another elites slot on an assassin.
I don't know how effective it would be. The inquisitor lord costs an awful lot in my view just so that you can get an assassin.
LordLink is correct on all points.
I would really agree that it's likely to be a bad deal. =][='s dont always fit in with your army and few of the Assassins are worth it, especialy when lumbering you with an additional HQ.
Callidus is so good as to be possibly worth it, but I doubt any of the others are.
Every time you read this sig: a fairie dies!
haha, dont know what to suggest because i dont know whats in ur army, how to compliment it
um, you can use an Inquisitor Lord, thats a HQ choice- sorta like a weak space marine- costs a bit, must have some sort of body guard (but that can be cheap, and/or actually give him real purpose).
Calidus is good, but the most expensive of the five. but then again she/it can arrive anywhere to administer justice.
Eversor is cheap and nasty, can hurt anything in the game and explodes when killed. my favourite!
the other two from the assassins book are more specialized. ie Vindicare goes good against chaos, orks, some guard armies relying on Ld and Ld abilities, um new Eldar aspect warriors i spose?. these sometimes rely on unit leader upgrades for effectivness, but no stronger/more resilient than the unit they accompany.
Culexus can mess with 'Nids, Daemonhunters, Eldar and some chaos armies.
and death cult assassins are like assassin Imp Guard with power weapons. seeing as you refer to the older assassin book i dunno if you know about these. cheap, but i would reather have one of the original four..... then again for the same price as the Calidus you can get three of 'em...
anyways, they help, and the =I= can be pretty cool too, but sometimes 8x scouts are better depending on what function you want to fulfill. downside is what choices they take up and the units you already have/use/want. if you can, find a Daemonhunters/Witch Hunters book and have a quick squizz- same rules as the assassin book, but you must take an =I= to access one and that means deciding on your Inquisitor and his purpose!
Last edited by jONESIE; December 1st, 2006 at 10:48.
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
The Assassins codex is quite out of date. It was merged with the Daemonhunters/Witchhunters codices a while back. They're right about needing a Lord.
Personally wouldn't bother. A Vindicare is useful solely as a stragetic annoyance - he can kill off hidden powerfists, Exarchs, heavy weapons, or even possessed Champions - but not a hero killer like most people seem to think. The Eversor is effective, but irregular, and the Callidus will have every person you play screaming "cheese, beardy beardy cheese beard". The Culexus is plain useless unless you're playing Eldar. There are a whole lot of better ways to play with Marines than to spend two hundred points minimum on an assassin and the accompanying Lord, who is himself not too flash without a retinue and some guns.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
I have used the assassins back when you could ally with them without needing Inquisitors. And they are simply not worth it.
The Vindicare and Callidus don't work nearly as well as they look on paper and the Culexus can work against Eldar, but they have inv saves, so he doesn't do too much.
The Eversor works quite well (for the points he costs) if you use him well.
You can sometimes do amazing things with them but most of the time they are merely an annoyance.
For the 200 -300 points you have to spend these days (Inq Lord + Assassin) you can get way better stuff in an SM army.
Shut up and play.
Actually, not true. There is a legal way to field an assassin without having to field an Inquisitor Lord. Of course you still have to use an Inquisitor, but he is less expensive and does not require a retinue.
If you look carefully you will notice in the Demonhunters and Witchhunters codices that it says that to use an Assassin, you must also use an Inquisitor or Inquisitor Lord. Notice that neither book makes any reference to Ordo Malleus or Ordo Hereticus. So you can take an Inquisitor out of the Demonhunters book, and then the Assassin out of the Witchhunters book.
Normally I would consider something like this to be extremely cheesy, but assassins are hardly power-gaming units. Even with this point savings the usefulness of the assassin is questionable (although they are fun) and the Inquisitor is totally useless.
My own view, and that of many other people, is that each codex is a self-referring item. If the DH codex refers to "Inquisitors", it's referring to DH Inquisitors. That sort of thing. I've never seen a really strong argument for justifying a DH Inq and a WH Assassin.
If you do this, be warned that many people will call bull**** and tourney organizers might not allow it.
Going by your logic dark eldar warriors should get the we'll be back special rule.
I don't think you can mix and match.
Also isn't there a rule saying that you can only take 1 army as allies? I know lost and the damned can only take 1 legion as an ally. Theres that confusing line in the inquisiton codicies too saying something like they can only induct 1 kind of army. Don't know if thats relevant.