Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm searching through various sets of rules and such to figure out what the most recent set of rules is for the Emperor's Champion to be used in a non-BT army. I've found a set of rules in the 2003 Chapter Approved -- are those the ones I should be using, or does the Black Templar Codex include provisions for using the Champion outside of that chapter?
Grrrr....i cant find where i read it but i am pretty sure he can be used in a non BT army as a sngle HQ choice...
Am unsure as to whether they get the benefit of the vows however and i havn't read the chapter approved in question,
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes. After that, who cares, your a mile away and you have his shoes!!
Chuck Norris invented water
Yeah, I know for a fact he can be used in a non-BT army, it's just a matter of making sure I have his most recent rules. I don't know if he's updated in a later Chapter Approved, or if I should use the BT Codex rules minus the vows
I could be wrong here, but I didn't think a non-BT list could include an emperor's champion.
Where did you find that you could (as he would be a great addition to a Blood Angels or Space Wolves list).
"Listen up you primitive screwheads ... see this ... this is my BOOM-stick!" - Ash
"I told you, it's not Pink! It's Light Red!" Donut on his new power-armor.
Taking the Emperor's Champion in non-BT armies was part of the Heroes of the Imperium ruleset back in 2nd or 3rd Edition.
However, with the onset of the new Black Templars codex, you are only allowed to take the Emperor's Champion in Black Templar armies. He's stuck.
As for where I saw it, I saw it in Chapter Approved 2003.. And if memory serves (I don't have the book on me at the moment) he also appeared in Chapter Approved 2005.
Hmm Non Bt armies cant use the EC rules. You could only use the model, for a company champion.
Doh... That sucks.
Well Fluff wise, every chapter has an "Emperors Champion". I read that somewhere real recently that was official GW material.
As far as rules to use him, no idea. If they do exist, it's probably more generic, and not exaclty like BT ones. If it is in Chapter Approved though, that is considered official until something in a codex or Chapter Approved says otherwise.
Age is a state of mind, and since I have no mind, I don't age.
Check out my painting blog at http://gmansminipainting.blogspot.com/
EC's last official was in the 3rd edition SM codex.