Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have some greyknights and SoB but not enough to make an entire army out of one or the other. Is there a special rule for mixing grayknights and SoB? like taking an inquisitor or somthing. Also is it practical to take greyknights with SoB?
The quick answer is 'yes'
Now for the long part...
To get Sisters of Battle working at top efficency you need quite a few faith points... and therefore cannot be spending preciouse points on squads (Grey Knights) that do not contribute to the faith pool in lower point games. I would include them in a game of +1500 pts as at this point you will have a solid base of SoB's. However, even at these points, only take 1 squad of Grey Knights (10 Teleport Attack Grey Knight, or about 5 - 6 Grey Knight Terminators) as you truely need only one squad of these magnificent warriors!
Hope this helps!
If you have either codex, look at page 21 (DH) or 25 (WH). The grey box in the bottom right corner is what you want. It details exactly what units and how many you may take to combine DH and WH together (including both GK and So.I have some greyknights and SoB but not enough to make an entire army out of one or the other. Is there a special rule for mixing grayknights and SoB? like taking an inquisitor or somthing.
What you do is make one of them (DH or WH) your "parent" army, and then ally the other force in. So you DO need at least two Troops choices from either DH or WH to fill the mandatory minimum of 2 Troops - you can't take one DH Troop and one WH Troop to fill that minimum, sorry. Pretty much, you need two Troops from the parent army, and one HQ from the parent army. Once those requirements are filled, then you can bring in units from the allied army as well.