Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The RAW state that in order to include Daemonhosts you must include an Inquisitor in the army. However, is it legal to use a witchhunter's inquisitor as the necessary inquisitor to use the Daemonhosts?
It isn't clearly written anywhere, and you're going to get opinions going both ways.
My own interpretation is that every codex is a self-contained unit. If the DH codex ever refers to an "Inquisitor", it's implied that they mean a DH Inquisitor, since it's in the DH codex. If each codex wasn't self-contained, you could do things like take a WH Orbital Strike in a DH army, or take wargear outside of a codex's armoury, etc. And since we all know that kind of thing isn't legal...
As I said, though, there isn't a 100% concrete answer to your question that I'm aware of. Just add it to the very long list of points that GW needs to clear up for the Inquisition armies.
Indeed, there is no written answer to that question. I however, differ from Meglomaniac in that I think an inquisitor is an inquisitor. period. I think a WH one could be used to get demonhosts, after all, GW does consider the "inquisition" one army just seperated into different branches, as in the Bible (rulebook) it does say forces of the inquisition and does not seperate witch hunters and daemon hunters. Also note how in the codicies the entry for inquisitors is seperated by "ordo malleus inquisitor" and "ordo hereticus inquisitor" But when it comes to assassins and what not it simply states "inquisitor" This to me, is more to my belief that an inquisitor is an inquisitor.
So all in all, its how you interpret it.
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
You would need a DH inquisitor to field deamonhosts. If it says that it needs an Inquisitor, then it means you need one from that codex. WH Inquisitors have completely different options available to them. Such as wargear/retinues. So you need an inquisitor from the codex you're reading.
From a fluff point of view, do you really expect a WH Inquisitor to know how to control a Daemonhost? :wacko:
I'm of the opinion that you need the Inq from the same codex.
Originally Posted by Montford981