Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
2 Small queries for you;
Looking around the army list board, it seems that not too many people are choosing to have their Commanders/Chaplains etc. wearing artificer armour. I could be wrong, but it doesn't seem so. It could be a really juvenile way of looking at it, but I always saw it as a 'must have' in terms of wargear. Is it actually not worth the points cost?
Also, if I were to give a Master of Sancitity a pair of lightning claws, how much would he cost? Would I take away the points for the Crozius Arcanum from his points cost, then add the points for the lightning claws?
Thanks in advance
Last edited by robbiedbee; December 14th, 2006 at 22:19.
I'm not too sure about the first question, are you saying that not many are using chaplains and commanders? But hey, I might be misreading, English not being my primary language n' all..
but i do know the answer for the second part: I'm pretty sure that the Crozius is included in the chaplains points cost, but if you give him twin lightning claws, you will not get the points back. the crozius is basically a free power weapon, and since you dont pay for it, you will not get any points back for changing it with something else. at least that's how we play in my club.
Basically, it seems to me that no one chooses artificer armour for their HQ characters. I always used to have my commanders wear it, but is it really worth the points cost?
Thanks, and sorry
I have as much artificer armour as possible, I love the stuff. In fact, I have actually changed my army to free up points for artificer armour a couple times, even when it penalizes other parts of my army. I just love it that much! (seriously, a 83% chance of not dieing? why would you not take it!)
I like it a ot more then terminator armour, because it doesn't have the "you dont get an extra attack for charging" rule, plus, I really don't like the look of termie armour too much.
I play my 40k with friendly fire.
Finally fixed the link!
1) Typically, your characters will be in close combat, as they are best suited for that. And, typically, they will be in close combat with other characters, or elite assault units, as they are good for that, especially Chaplains. Artificer Armour is quite a waste against enemies with power weapons, don't you think?
2) As said, the Crozius is included in the Chaplain's point cost. You can't get the points back, as it's in his base cost, so you would just add the points from the Twin Lightning Claws and that's the cost.
In the codex, it states the chaplain is armed with a crozius arcanum.
Then it says he may pick any equipment allowed from the armory.
Nowhere does it say that he may swap out his Crozius Arcanum for anything else. Of course this is poorly worded so it is up to interpretation. Its like saying "It doesnt say we can, so we cant". Of course you can always say "It doesn't say we can't, so we can."
Other than that I don't see why no one gives them artificer. A 2+ save is an almost guaranteed save. If they are using their most powerful guns on your HQ, thats one squad not shooting at a tank.
It simply states that he may take no more than two weapons (one two-handed max) from the armoury...nowhere does it state that the Crozius counts as one of the weapons able to be chosen from the armoury, so you can definitely take Lightning Claws.
I saw the idea in the army list room. I have always loved the idea of deploying a Chaplain with a jump pack with 10 assault marines. I saw someone else had done something similar, but had given the chaplain twin lightning claws. Meaty. :yes:
As for question two, like someone else said, you don't get points back for the Crozius Arcanum(CA) even if you buy a different weapon and don't use the CA. I am sure the CA has an effect on the original points cost of the chaplain, but you still dont get points back for it.
Hope this helps.