Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm playing with the idea of making a Deathwing list and I came across a little problem while going through a few lists here on LO and elsewhere.
The Dark Angels Codex state that Deathwing armies require Master of the Deathwing as a HQ choice, yet many people opt for the Librarian or the Chaplain. I doubt all these people are taking illegal HQ choices, but I can't find anything in the Errata that says that the requirement for Master of the Deathwing no longer applies.
I'd be grateful if someone could clarify this for me.
the only comment that the Dark Angels codex says about Deathwing HQ's is that the must be wearing Terminator Armour.
Its just that if you take a Force Commander, it represents the Master of the Deathwing.
Don't forget the DA codex was second edition, you need to take a look at the DA FAQ for the full and exact rules.
Ok, I just got confused because the Dark Angels Codex says in the Hero entry that a Master or Grand Master can be made Master of the Ravenwing (with Terminator Armour). But the Errata replaces the Hero, Librarian and Interrogator-Chaplain with the entries from the Space Marine Codex, and doesn't really specify what happens to the Deathwing Army List requirements. Hence I assumed that Master of the Deathwing now referred to the Captain and Master Entry in the SM:C rather than the requirement being dropped completely.
Last edited by simonilicious; December 15th, 2006 at 19:43. Reason: spelling
The 'current' DA Codex has a '2nd Edition' stamp on the front cover. If your Codex hasn't got this then you are using the first ed which is 4 years+ out of date.
There is NO requirement to take a Master of the DW with a DW army in the current dex. Not only that but you will find that termies are cheaper too.
DA Codexes are currently being sold cheaply (Â£5.00 I think) in GW stores as a new one is due out in Feb/March.
Then guess what, amongst other chhanges, we HAVE to take the Master of the DW to field termies in troop slots. We've come full circle.
Keeper of the Dark Fortress
Member of the Inner Circle
Current armies: Deathwing and Grey Knights (I'd have more if my wife would let me)
My advice to you is to stop playing with the idea. Things could look drastically different in the new dex. I don't go all out and read every rumor but changes are on the horizon. I would not start anything until you get the new dex.
Definetely not, I'm just about a third into my Traits Army, so no worries there. :>