Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I just played a game with a friend of mine last week. I used an =][= as my HQ. I realised during the battle that I don't really know how the retinue works exactly. So I have a few questions that hopefully someone can answer. I apologize if these questions are a bit odd. I'm just unsure on some of the rules I guess. Tried reading and rereading thru my rule book and codex. Didn't help much.
Set up: My Inq Lord had 3 Crusaders, 3 Acolytes, 1 chirugeon, 1 sage, 1 familiar. I advanced with the crusaders and Inq Lord in front.
1) In an assault, do I have to go with the majority save? When does the crusaders 4++ come into effect in an assault?
2) Does positioning help with a retinue? Obviously I want to keep my chirugeons and sages safe in the back. But what bout warriors/acolytes? And my Lord?
To your first question, I'd say you go with the save that makes sense, if your Chirurgeon isn't in combat then your not going to use her save, your going to make saves for units that are in combat.
To your second question, you want to keep your Chirurgeon safe in combat, shooting won't matter and it doesn't really matter if your familar or sage die as there enhancements remain after they die. I'd say they(the familar and sage) should be your first guys to die to ranged fire just keep the better members of the retinue alive.
Legion Of Everblight: Abyslonia
Protectorate of Menoth: Grand Exemplar Kreoss