Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
got a question for the DH people out there, i got a mate that has just started using them and i've nicely pointed out to him that if he puts those psycannons on his models then those models lose their extra strength for the nemisis force weapon and also the extra attack.
To combat this he has decided that his justicar can take the psy cannon instead. is this possible??? his reasoning is that in the codex it says the justicar "may be given any equipment allowed from the deamonhunters armoury".
Now, if this is allowed then fair enough, but if it is then does this also replace the SB and NFW as for normal guys??? cheers in advance for any speedy replies.
SON'S OF TERRA......... Your defeat, its the emperor's will
the psycannon is not part of the armoury. therefore it cannot be taken by the justicar. it can only be taken in the way listed under the unit description options. also it's technically a 2 handed weapon, and the NFW is 1 handed + storm bolter is 1 i think as well? making it impossible to carry anyway (except for termies where it counts as a 1 handed i think).
But nope, they can't take it.
a couple of things wrong with these posts. First a Justicar cannot change his weapons, it says so in the codex (pg 16, right above the wargear list), so even though a psycannon is in the codex armory (which it is; also page 16) he cannot buy it because of the sacredness of his weapons. Second a character can only have two weapons, not three (also Codex page 16, but it is also in the BG. One of these two weapons can be two handed, which a storm bolter is (though it can be used like a one handed weapon in close combat except when charging [universal special rules BGB 74 or 75}). So no model can have a NFW, storm bolter, and psycannon; though a psycannon/NFW is possible, we don't get it. We replace both standard weapons with the special weapon when we take it.
The easy solution is to not take psycannons on PAGK, put them on inquisitors--it cost the same, and it can fire independantly from the unit; or terminators--they don't lose anything that you have already paid for to upgrade (only according to some) your weaponry.
So in my opinion the Justicars can take at least these too weapons.
It specifically says that they may only choose items from the wargear list, the other part of the sentence was just a clarification. You must follow the rules it has layed down.
A terminater could take one though because it seems the rule only applies to ones in power armor, probably to prevent people from making deepstriking squads that have 3 incinerators.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
Grey knights in power armour canot buy weaponry from the armoury. They can change their weapons for incinerators or psicannons following the instructions of their troop!FA!HS entry. It doesnt matter what you consider to be a holy weapon or a lesser weapon, you just cannot give your justicar any weapon from the armoury. And thats a fact. If you want 3`psicannons either use elite inq or buy Purgation squads.
I think you misunderstood his question. He isn't asking about PAGK/FAGK, but Justicars, which the codex says are characters that may purchase any items allowed by the armory. The codex says the psycannon can be purchased by Inquisitors, Lords, and Grey Knights, which the Justicar is. Ergo, a Justicar should be able to be equipped with a psycannon (or incinerator or artificer armor or the like). Now, why you would want to invest 80 points or more in such a model is another question entirely.
After reading the codex more closely, it probably does mean Justicars when it says PAGK on p. 16, but it is a little fuzzy. Why it doesn't just say Justicars is odd, since they are the only non-terminator GK that can use the armory. The Justicar could buy Artificer Armor, but cannot buy a psycannon then (even though some of his squad can).
Last edited by Marid; January 25th, 2007 at 08:01.
You know, perhaps GW ought to make an armory list for each character type. There aren't that many and it would sure eliminate confusion. There are just too many footnotes and special rules for a single list. What is one more page in a codex going to hurt?