Silliness with the Armoury - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Tactical Avante-Gard <E!_Mance>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeppoon, QLD, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x6)

    Silliness with the Armoury

    Okay, there seems to be a lot of 'problems' with the armoury that some people are having. I will answer each of the questions I see as stupid (the askers may not be, but the question sure is) after quoting it (in the extreme cases of dumb). Note that I may answer a tad not-nicely for your tastes... But meh, you should know I'm only trying to tell you the answers.

    Q: Can a Techmarine wear Termie Armour\\Bike\\Jump Pack?
    A: Yes.

    Q: With a Full Servo-harness?
    A: yes.

    Q: (from people who say no to Q2) Awww but! NO! How can he ride a bike with that huge thing?
    A: Um, because he's allowed to? If you don't like that, make a quad or something to show his techiness.

    Q: Can a Sergeant with access to the Armoury take Terminator Honours again?
    A: Um, read the damn entry!
    Terminator Honours: "Note that if a single-wound model has selected Terminator Honours from it's list entry, it cannot take it again from the armoury."
    General Armoury: "No model may pick the same item twice."
    No. He can't.

    Q: Can an IC take Terminator Armour and Terminator Honours together?
    A: Again, read the entry!
    Terminator Armour: "The wearer Automatically has Terminator Honours at no extra pts cost."
    General Armoury: "No model may pick the same item twice."
    No. He can't.

    Q: Can I get a Chaplain to have a Storm Bolter, Powerfist & Power weapon?
    A: Um, hell no. It says you may have 2 weapons, not 2 extra weapons from the armory... That's like giving a Termie Sarge an extra Powerfist & Storm Shield... one's belt does not simply carry everything you want, 40K does not operate upon the notions of Hammerspace.

    Q: But it says he already has a power weapon and that he can TAKE 2 weapons, 1 can be 2-handed... I'm not breaking any rules, so why not?
    A: *shudders* The armoury says you may take 2 weapons, yes. But it does not say you may take 2 weapons FROM THE ARMOURY! You're limited to one in each arm, buddy. Only Autarchs can have 3.

    Q: Can I give a Librarian a Powerfist & Familiar, I want him strike at at least I2 instead of 1 (so he can strike before the other powerfists)?
    A: You can take those 2 items, yes. But you will still strike at I1. The familiar increases the Librarian's Initiative, yes. But Powerfists always strike at I1. You can Forceweapon (if you kept it) at I6, but Powerfists stay at I1.

    Q: Can I take 2 of <item>?
    A: FFS! General Armoury: "No model may pick the same item twice."
    No, he can't! Can you read? Why can't you read?

    Q: "I want to take a Chaplain that uses: Terminator armour, Bike, Bolt pistol, Terminator Honours, Crozius Arcanum, Familiar, Frags, & Adamantine Mantle! How good will that work?
    A: It will cost at least 202pts, Takes illegal stuff for the armour, and is generally stupid. The solution is: *wait for it* NO!
    NEVER ask for that stuff! It will make you look like a tard! You are commiting plausibility suicide by asking such questions.

    Q: Can a non-Librarian take a Familiar?
    A: What part of Librarian Only Don't you understand?

    Quote Originally Posted by this post
    Q:
    Quote Originally Posted by this post
    Can a Sergeant take a Jump pack?
    Quote Originally Posted by this post
    A: No.

    Q: Can a Sergeant take a Bike?
    A: No.
    Said with these answers because why would you? What purpose is there in giving a Bike or jump pack to ONE man in the squad? He can't move any faster and it's a waste of pts. So, can you? No, not unless you're stupid.

    Q: Can a Sergeant take Terminator Armour?
    A: No. Not unless you have the trait Scions of Mars. It says "This does mean that single wound models can be given Terminator Armour." Why would it say that unless you couldn't before? Huh?

    Q: Can I take a combination of Storm Shield, Combat Shield, & Iron Halo on the same model?
    A: Yes. But I couldn't imagine why the hell you'd want to... You only get one save per wound.

    These are the answers. Debate away.

    And once again, if I look mean, I'm telling the way I see it. Ask me to tone it down and I will. Though it will neuter the spirit of TRYING TO STOP THESE QUESTIONS by looking too nice about it. It could be a lot worse, besides.

    Last edited by <E!_Mance>; January 9th, 2007 at 10:53.
    Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
    48W/7D/11L

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    ISIS Secret Agent Squishy mpdscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Domicile 6-DSt G-Town 3216
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,875
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x7)

    In question 2, which FAQ are you referring to?
    The latest one I can find online only mentions the Techmarine once, and that's a question about the Plasma Cutter on the Servo Harness. Nowhere else does it mention him or the Harness, let alone conflicts with equipment selections.
    I know that I'm in the minority, but as I am apparently one of the few people who ever saw the unoffical FAQ on the GW forums (Emperor rest their soul...), I stick to that "ruling" purely because that is the way it will be once it is made official.
    Mysterious Member of the ANZAC Clan

  4. #3
    Tactical Avante-Gard <E!_Mance>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeppoon, QLD, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x6)

    O RLY? Fixed. Oops. I'm only human.
    Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
    48W/7D/11L

  5. #4
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by <E!_Mance> View Post
    Q: Can a Sergeant take a Jump pack?
    A: No.
    Yes he can. There is nothing in the rules that say he cannot. But why would you want him to? the squad moves as slow as the slowest member so it's a 20 point paperweight strapped to his back.

    Quote Originally Posted by <E!_Mance> View Post
    Q: Can a Sergeant take a Bike?
    A: No.
    Yes he can. See above. Just as useless for twice the points. Oh goody!!

    Quote Originally Posted by <E!_Mance> View Post
    Q: Can a Sergeant take Terminator Armour?
    A: No. Not unless you have the trait Scions of Mars. It says "This does mean that single wound models can be given Terminator Armour." Why would it say that unless you couldn't before? Huh?
    This one is debateable. While you have a good point about that passage, rules don't work backwards like that. Plus...who knows why the hell GW puts passages like that in the book, it's hardly the most stupid thing they do. Plus...if single wound models can't have terminator armor, then we are back to that stupid argument that terminator squads don't in fact have terminator armor. So while it's debateable I would have to go with the fact that they can. But again...why?

  6. #5
    Tactical Avante-Gard <E!_Mance>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Yeppoon, QLD, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x6)

    Well, I was basing my 'no's on the way it says that Termie armour is now 25/15... Which implies to me that you need a single-wound pts value for them to be legal... They ARE specialist kit, after all. Bolt pisolts, CCW, & Bolters don't count for Sergeants... Frags are avaliable & the smaller priced items (storm Bolter & Auspex) are reasonable to assume. But why would the Codex Astartes allow the Sergeant of a Devastator squad to take a Jump pack on his own?

    I say GW left the ruling for that out because it's such a stupid thing to do that nobody wold choose to do it. But there we go, they do. *lives with idiots*

    But yeah, the Sudden change to 25/15 makes me think the other 2 big items in the armoury are the same, they essentially make the Sergeant into a different unit type. Why would a Primarch (Old Guillman who wrote it) let such foolishness exist?

    Anyway, even if common sense is the only reason not to, it's still enough to say you can't take them.
    Last edited by <E!_Mance>; January 5th, 2007 at 17:35.
    Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
    48W/7D/11L

  7. #6
    Member Alaric's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Waterloo Canada
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Aha good summary of some stupid questions! Thanks Mance. I'm favouriting this for people who ask these questions.
    If you feel that I have been helpful, please click the star, and do the same for anyone else who gives you a hand.

    4000+ Of Marines and Daemonhunters
    2000+ Of Tyranids

  8. #7
    Senior Member Xiahou Dun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    696
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by mpdscott View Post
    In question 2, which FAQ are you referring to?
    The latest one I can find online only mentions the Techmarine once, and that's a question about the Plasma Cutter on the Servo Harness. Nowhere else does it mention him or the Harness, let alone conflicts with equipment selections.
    I know that I'm in the minority, but as I am apparently one of the few people who ever saw the unoffical FAQ on the GW forums (Emperor rest their soul...), I stick to that "ruling" purely because that is the way it will be once it is made official.
    No, I also saw that unofficial forum post about 1 or 2 years ago. I didn't put much stock in it then, and I put even less stock in it once it was removed never to be seen again.

    People back then were always saying pretty much the same thing you are, "just wait until it's made official." Well... it still ain't official. There's been, I believe, two space marine FAQ's since that time and there's been absolutely no mention in anything official that it isn't legal.

    If you can show me anything even slightly tangible that serves as evidence to the contrary I may change my tune, but not before then. And I think that saying that it's definitely going to be made official is nothing but speculation.

    XD
    "You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  9. #8
    Senior Member me_meza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Age
    27
    Posts
    274
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Nice one, Mance! Now people can have this one smeared in their faces when they ask stupid questions!

    Quote Originally Posted by <E!_Mance>
    Oops. I'm only human.
    I simply refuse to believe in that!




    oh yeah, that is certainly worthy of rep, just for the inconvenience of writing it! (I find myself saying rep quite often these days, must be the spirits of christmas that hasn't left me yet )

  10. #9
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by <E!_Mance> View Post
    Q: Can a Sergeant take a Jump pack?
    A: No.

    Q: Can a Sergeant take a Bike?
    A: No.

    These are the answers. Debate away.

    And once again, if I look mean, I'm telling the way I see it. Ask me to tone it down and I will. Though it will neuter the spirit of TRYING TO STOP THESE QUESTIONS by looking too nice about it. It could be a lot worse, besides.
    If you give a sergeant termie honors he gains access to the armory and thus CAN take a jump pack or a bike. It doesn't matter whether he is in a tac or dev squad. He can't take TDA because a single wound model with termie honors can't take it again from the armory (and termie honors are included with TDA). Scions of Mars specifically allows a sergeant with termie honors to take TDA.

    You are right that it could be worse, someone who doesn't understand the rules could go off on some misguided rant. If some noobie asks what YOU consider to be a stupid question you could simply ignore it and let others with more patience (and 40k knowledge) answer them.
    Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?

  11. #10
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    252 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Malachi View Post
    You are right that it could be worse, someone who doesn't understand the rules could go off on some misguided rant. If some noobie asks what YOU consider to be a stupid question you could simply ignore it and let others with more patience (and 40k knowledge) answer them.
    Oooooooooh... that's harsh. So harsh, in fact, that I'm going to ask that you tone it down just a little.

    Instead of coming across the way you did, you could simply point out the mistakes like another user did and be done with it. The tone that I detect in this post is just a bit out of line. If we could all play nicely, I'd be a very happy drake. Or, even better, we could all post in my thread about the least efficient units (which can be found rather handily at http://209.200.246.44/~librariu/foru...ad.php?t=87125 !), and live gently and peacefully among one another.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts