Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, this is just for my piece of mind and I will probably end up going with majority rules here.
But Does the Exorcist need line of sight to fire at a target??
This all started for me when a worker in a GW store told me it didn't need los.
Then Im sure i have read on here somewhere that it does need los, ( I've tried searching for it again but cant find where i might have read it.).
I have since asked in a different GW store, the guy told me that they do need los and reading a recent battle report from a "tournament", It read's as if the wh player was firing from behind terrain, hiding his Exo from his enemies los, getting confused, I am.
I have been playing no los required up until now, but now not so sure im right.
One of the stories ive heard is cause the Exorcist launcher is pointing straight up, it fires its missiles straight up and then they are guided by some sort of devine guidence or something to their target, so no los is required.
Everyone's thoughts would be good on this??
Its not an indirect weapon, thus it does need LoS.
Unless you can produce a line of text from the codex stating it doesn't need LoS (or iirc its a barrage weapon) then you alaways assume it needs LoS.
LoS is required.
Can you imagine if it didn't? Move & Shoot from behind walls with AP1 rockets, all for less than 150pts.
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
as the others have stated, since the Codex does not indicate that the Exorcist is a barrage weapon. Look at the Basilisk from the IG, it pays points to BECOME a Barrage weapon, thus enabling it to use indirect fire.
The Exorcist is also a forward firing arc weapon, like many other fixed gun weapons. I usually draw the LoS from the gunner (organist) in the front of the tank, but for distance, you are supposed to measure from the barrel of the weapon.
man, I DREAM of Exorcist indirect fire. I'd max every list out with them if they were Indirect. that's almost as cool as being able to move in the assault phase.
Anyways yeh the Exorcist does need LoS as others have mentioned already. It's a case of pointing out the rules in such respect, if a player believes a vehicle works as such have them point out where it is stated otherwise disregard what they say.