Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I give a justicar frag grenades.. does that mean that if I assault a unit in cover with my grey knights, all of them strike simultaneously with the units in cover, or just the justicar?
At what point would putting smoke launchers on a dreadnought be effective? I've had them on there a few times for my last couple games, but never really had a need to use them, as if I was going to get shot by something the following turn I usually just tried to blow it up before that with whatever the dread was armed with. It seems kind've backwards to have a dread geared up with a TLLC/ML designed for shooting at armored targets who then spends a turn not shooting at anything.
Can someone effectively explain to me how the Callidus' assasins Jump Back ability is best used? I haven't quite been able to wrap my mind around effectively using it and when. Is it used to prevent being charged? Like, you're charged by a unit, but before they attack you just jump out and away of combat, wasting that unit's turn? Or do you use it the turn following to get a free charge on that unit?
This one's just basic gameplay mechanics: If you shoot at a unit and destroy it with ranged attacks, can you then charge a different unit in the same turn?
you can only assault the unit you fired at, if you kill them all you cant assault.
i would say smoke on a dreadnaught is never necessary unless maybe you have it set up as pure cc dred
the callidus jump back is used the same as jump troops hit and run. its just to guarantee you get a charge bonus on your turn.
theres other things you can do, say if a cc squad ties you up and you have another squad close by. jump callidus out of CC, charge the unit with your unit, then your callidus is free to go do whatever she wants without worrying about getting tied up.
it just helps you to always be able to pick and choose your fights.
as far as frag grenades, its just like a veteran ability. everyone in the unit has to have it for any of them to benefit.
leave the moderating to the moderators
if pro is the opposite of con, does that mean progress is the opposite of congress?
Beaten to the punch! Like a chump!
Micah, the frag grenades still work for the model carrying them. The wording mentions the 'model' carrying them gains the benefits, I believe.
Hope someof that was helpful!
Last edited by Hasten; January 26th, 2007 at 16:28.
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
I would say it's absolutely necessary for an AC/DCCW dread. You may have to expose it before it gets targets in range of its guns, and the smoke -- combined with extra armour -- can almost guarantee that the dread will survive the approach. On TLLC/ML dreads its not nearly as important, exactly because you should be shooting at targets every turn. However, it can be handy if you're unable to shoot and also unable to duck behind cover. Pop the smoke and almost guarantee the dread's survival for another round.Originally Posted by jamsessioneinTechnically, you can only Jump Back at the end of an assault phase. Tactically, you should only do it at the end of an opponent's assault phase, because then you have the chance to shoot and assault again, akin to the Hit and Run universal special rule. (It's not as good though, as you have to roll a 4 or better on your Jump Back roll to prevent the enemy from consolidating back into the Callidus.)Originally Posted by jamsessioneinNo. You can only assault the unit you shot at. If it happens to die before you can assault, that's just too bad.Originally Posted by jamsession
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
as for the callidus assasin question, you could also use it to jump back in the enemies turn (remember that the jump back has to be done BEFORE even charges are declared). As the rules say, if you succesfully disengage from your opposing unit (not in base contact any more) it can only consolidate at the end of the turn. If you are on the edge of an assault, and you jump back 4' or more, you can't be put into base contact again by the consolidation of the opposing unit. If this happens, your free to move on your own turn, and thus ready to fry some heads and then charge in again.
If you jump back 3' or less, then your opponent has to choose to consolidate into your assasin, locking it in combat again (but still they can't attack you unti your own assault phase) or to retreat and get away from it. When they do retreat, you can shoot it with your GK or other things.
This jumping back method can be used to lock a Khorne Beserker squad that would have killed the assasin because of their supperior numbers for example. Just jump back, and doing so make yourself less surrounded and thus receive less attacks and so increase your survival chance.
As already said, when jumping back in your own turn, you can then recharge the unit, gaining another attack, or even charge another unit which is close by.
I hope this helps
Tyranids Win / Draw /Lost 
Daemon Hunters Win / Draw / Lost