Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So basically, my original army list contained two ST squads w/ pair of meltas on rhinos to take out tanks, but also to fill in the required troop choices. Now, people on this forum have said to take advantage of "the shrouding" rule by fitting a GK troop squad w/ 2 psycannons.
But how affectively does that work? Putting your squad 36 inches away and blasting 6 shots of strength 6 a turn is nice, and i do like the idea of infantry fire at them missing almost half of the time. But what happens when ordanance lands a direct hit on you which is 33% of the time?
Also. Is it not wise to put psycannons on deep striking squads? A lot of people say it should be limited by just incinerators, but if you scatter and are out of range, dont you think psycannons would come in handy?
Just a thought.
yes and no to the question I say yes cause you will still get a shot off before they are shot to peices themselves and no because a incinerator you will just get to kill more guys and also if you are going to go with the GK with Psycannons I suggest going with a purge squad and have 4 psycannons at 36" away which is 12 shots at Str 6 which is awesome now as for the shrouding and ordanance I say if they are close enough to shoot at the purge squad from 55" I think they should get it cause come one if they are chancing coming that close with a ordanance tank it still has to scatter so you are cover both ways one they need to beable too see you but I don't know if that works with indirect fire or not, and two if they see you they still have to scatter and you will be close enough to tear apart the tank with the meltaguns from the rhinos.
Troop based psycannon squads are useful in that hopefully, the enemy won't be concentrating on them at all as you should have a number of other units coming in either via DS or LR, if you can move your units into a good place to support your CC units and just generally cause havoc then they have done your job.
As well a couple of units marching up tends to worry people.
STs in Rhinos works well and gives you a bit more support in the tank busting area, in the end its up to you.
Psycannons in DSing squads I think are fairly useless as generally your trying to get as close as possible during the DS so you can charge right away
Unless you are playing on a fair big board, then a small unit of GKs (5-6) with two psycannons can really distrupt a flank of the enemy much as a sniper would.
You know, Tau don't actually have any ordnance. The Railgun submunition does not scatter, you just roll to hit and place the template, exactly like the missile launcher. If you miss the template is not even placed.
yes but most armies do have ordnance of something and if they don't then the shrouding still works for you. They could have a gun that shoots 36" but they can only see 9".
if you DS in and have a rear shot available against that juicy 10 armor or even side 11 or 12 armor- I would sure like to have a psycannon available for that opportunity
my currant army has 7 psycannons in it and 3 of those are in DS squads
<<<----- does anyone know what this "warn 0%" thingy is??
I am a strong fan of the Purgation Squad. 4 psycannons and a power weapon (yay justicars) are a fearsome little unit. And as for guess-ordnance weapons, if they fail shrouding, the scatter is doubled.
For troop squads that I run across the board, I give 2 psycannons just for the 6 heavy shots they give (and because they can be assault 18").
For DSer's, I give 2 incinerators. I don't worry about scattering too far away to use them, because I've still got 6-8 GK's worth of stormbolter shots at 24" (and you'll never scatter far away enough that you NEED the 36" of a psycannon). ANd besides, a turn after you DS and you move into assault range, you'll want those two templates before you enter CC!
true - its a trade off, I guess...
I like the psycann for that extra strength and I never shoot before I charge because if you shoot too good and they fall back you ll have yer ass hanging out to be shot at again - you might make them fall back in CC as well but at least you have the opportunity to roll to keep them in H2H