Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
so how much of the calidus template needs to touch a vehicle?
half the vehicle?
what if the vehicle is not the main target and is partially covered as a bonus?
I'm pretty sure it just has to touch the vehicle. As for touching a vehicle "as a bonus" ... whatever unit you are primarily targeting -- assuming it's infantry -- has to be maximally covered by the template. That is, you can't opt to skew the template so that it covers less models but also gets a tank. If by maximally covering the infantry the template also touches a tank, hooray! That's good luck, indeed.
If your only target is vehicles, it would be poor sportsmanship (at the very least) to tap your primary vehicle with the template while also touching the second one, too. Whether it's actually illegal ... I couldn't say.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Would it be poor sportsmanship?
If your opponent has allowed you to get your callidus assasin that close to your tanks and you've parked those bad boys that close... well I think you need to learn a lesson
This is coming from an ex-guard player also, I would always generally post a unit to secure the tanks from infiltrators.
Mind you i'd also say that you should have a good amount of that template on the tank.. as the power is meant to be freaking out the driver and if your just touching the tank then I wouldn't say its effecting the driver...
I think hitting more than one target at a time shows skill :-)
so how much of the template would need to go over the enemy model
3", 5" ?
how much of the tank needs to be covered (eg the monolith)?
personally i feel that touch should be enough.
my reasoning being that the template represents the range of the power
ie 8"(or however long the template is)
so if the rule said "up to 8" away" then if you just reached the tank it would be fine.
IMO that is what the template is doing
if you can target just the edge of a tank with shooty weapons then ... why not this weapon?
Ahh, but you can't. You have to put the hole of the template directly on a model, in this case the middle of the tank. And if the middle isn't touching, then you only get to use half S value against the Tank's AV.if you can target just the edge of a tank with shooty weapons then ... why not this weapon?
the Callidus Assassin does not infiltrate. It pops up where it wants as soon as it becomes available via reserves. Then it gets a full turn (move, shoot, attack).
So it´s not exactly a mistake of a player when the Callidus gets close to vehicles. Protecting squads do not help a bit.
That being said, the rules are clear. A vehicle is affected when it is touched by the template (as all models are affected by the flame template as soon as they are touched by it) and while you are obliged to cover as many models of your target squad(ron) there is nothing preventing you from hitting additional models aside from your target with the template when the primary rule is not affected.