Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can anyone clear up a couple of questions for me about PoMS and specifically its use with the Land Raider Helios?
Firstly, does PotMS allow you to fire at two separate targets? eg: a lascannon at a vehicle and the whirlwind launcher at a unit of infantry and both LCs at two separate vehicles. I've a feeling that isn't allowed even though the IA Vol2 states that you can.
Secondly, according to the rules, if stationary the Land Raider Helios can only fire one ordnance barrage weapon OR both lascannons. However, PotMS says that you can fire one weapon IN ADDITION to any weaponry that can normally be fired. Does this mean you can fire the Whirlwind and a lascannon?
Also, following on from this point, can you fire the launcher if you've moved up to 6"?
Although you can't do this normally, the PotMS rules in the codex state that it can operate one weapon per turn if you have not moved more than 6"
I'd appreciate any feedback on this as I don't fancy shelling out a load of cash on a Helios before I have some clearer facts on how it might operate in a game.
I've not got a Land Raider or a Whirlwind in my army and reckon the versatility of the Helios would be useful against my main IG opponent. Plus it looks pretty cool!
1) No, this was changed from the 3rd edition rules for Land Raiders. You cannot use the Machine Spirit to fire at more than one target.
2a) Yes, you can fire the Whirlwind Launcher and one Lascannon, but you must fore both at a single target.
2b) This is a grey-er area, but I would say no, as ordnance barrage weapons are specifically not allowed to move and fire.
As there is no other tank in the Marine list that can use an ordnance barrage in addition to other weapons, there is no need to mention this in the PotMS rules. However, I firmly believe that it was not intended to be used in such a way.
It is probably worth checking the latest Forge World FAQs to see if they have anything useful to say on the matter.
minus_t's painting log! Now with: More Wolves and Blue Robots!
Last updated 09/01/11
"Never before has another man made me want to go out and buy vasaline"~The Paint Monkey
"All I can remeber is Hazard stripes and -T's dusty brushes. ~danjones87
But I agree that the rules probably do not intend a Whirlwind to move and fire its ordnance barrage, but instead to move even though its crew has been stunned, or to fire a barrage while stationary when the crew has been shaken or stunned.
Edit: sorry, -t, forget about what I wrote. It seems I was to tired to read properly. No harm intended!
Thanks for your thoughts on this.
As suggested, I've looked on the FAQ on the Forge World site and it does have a section about the Helios. It says that the whirlwind is an ordnance barrage weapon and can only fired when stationary - even with PotMS/Fire control.
Although only being able to target one unit is a bit disappointing, there is always a chance that even if you fire on a tank with a LC the WW shot may shatter onto infantry.
Also, BS2 with PotMS makes no difference when using scatter dice.
Having checked the SM Codex I've noticed that under the Whirlwind's stats it says that the launcher is 'ordnance barrage' but over the page on the SM summary it is listed as 'Ord. 1'. The same as the Demolisher.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Are you certain of this?Whirlwind missile launchers are always barrage weapons - the G means they must always be used as such (unlike the basilisk, for example, which does have the option).
I thought if you had LOS you could choose to fire normal, the barrage is a bonus if you don't.
But im not an ordnance expert.