Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quote for discussion purposes:From Owen Rees:
Jervis Johnson ask me to post this on here to help you all out with a few rules queries that have come up. He also said:
"While you're at it, could you pass on my kudos to Gillyfish for an insightful review of the Codex "
So, without further ado...
These are my answers to some of the questions I've received about the Dark Angel Codex. Although not an official FAQ it should help until the real thing appears on the GW website.
Q: Can a Dark Angel choose to use their Bolt Pistol instead of another weapon they are carrying? For example, could a Dark Angel with a Bolter or a Heavy Bolter choose to fire their Bolt Pistol instead? If they fire the Bolt Pistol once may they assault?
A: Yes to all questions.
Q: If I split a Tactical Squad into two Combat Squads, can both use any dedicated transport vehicle that was purchased for the unit? Or do I have to assign the vehicle to one of the Combat Squads?
A: Either Combat Squad is allowed to use the transport, but they cannot both use it at the same time because they are no longer a single unit. (Only one unit is allowed to use a transport vehicle at a time; see the rules for Transport Vehicles in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook).
Q: Tactical Squads can take a Razorback as a transport. But since you can have 5 or 10 man squads, can you take a Razorback regardless of the Squad size? For example, can you take a Razorback with a 10 man squad and then put a combat squad in it or just use it as a rolling weapon platform for the squad?
A: Yes to all questions.
Q: Can troops that take a Drop Pod as a dedicated transport vehicle set up in it in reserve?
A: Yes they can (along with any Independent Characters that have joined the unit and can fit in the vehicle). They must enter play in the Drop Pod, disembarking as described in the Drop Pod unit entry, and counting as a Deep Striking unit on the turn they arrive (so they can shoot but not assault). Note that one reserve roll is made each turn to see if the Drop Pod arrives, and if it does so then all embarked units must enter play with it.
Q: Some of the upgrades in the army list are not represented by models in the Citadel range. For example, there is no model for Belial, or an Apothecary in Terminator armour. How do I represent these models?
A: The Dark Angel army list includes several units that are not represented by existing models in the Citadel Range (at least at the time of writing!) Therefore you will need to find a suitable stand-in, and in some cases you will have to convert a model to show that it is carrying the piece of equipment, as all models in an army must be 'what you see is what you get'. For example, Belial can easily be represented by a Terminator Captain model, but you will have to convert a Terminator into an Apothecary.
Q: In the Dark Angels Codex quite a few characters have Iron Halos. In Codex Space Marines these are limited to one per army. Does this limit apply to the Dark Angels too?
A: No it doesn't. It is also possible to take more than one Company Banner should you wish to.
Q: Some squads allow 'any number of models' to carry meltabombs. How can I tell which models have the meltabombs and which not?
A: Meltabombs are provided in the plastic sets that we make (see the armoury section of Codex Dark Angels for a picture of what they look like). Any miniature you have modeled with a meltabomb must take the upgrade if they are allowed to do so; conversely any miniature not carrying a meltabomb may not be given the upgrade.
Last edited by Hard A**; February 21st, 2007 at 23:20.
Well, that clears a lot up.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
What about the first turn assault rule. is that automatic for the models chosen or do you still have to roll for it?
Yeah no roll they do it in the Tau vs DA battle report in the March White Dwarf uhhh guess who won...anyway....Bikes roll up after the scout move, use a T.homer zero them in, near cover....no roll mentioned...first turn....The HQ was not rolled for he just came with the squad which was not a retinue....since I guess now you don't have to roll separatly for HQ and elite when the are in reserve....
So since they both can be available at the start of the game (I assume) you count as having rolled up both automatically.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I'm also glad that someone cleared up that you can't assault out of droppods "because they aren't space marine drop pods, but dark angels drop pods" ugh.
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!
Hah, there are still a few questions not addressed here..but i'm not going to bring them out, if they aren't FAQ's i'm playing RAW...Since mr Jervis johnson is this huge stickler on RAW...Lol
either he's going to eat his words on the codex, or he's going to get alot of pissed off SM players.