Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
im just now getting back into 40K after having a more fantisy heavy game store. Im starting to play SM and had a situation come up that I was hopeing i could get some help on.
My budy was playing IG and I used a Drop Pod to drop my Company Master and Command Squad near his troops(im using a partly proxy DA army).
The problem was that we wernt sure if i could assualt or not. The rules for Deep Strike say that when Troops arive via Deep Strike they can't move or assualt but can shoot as normal.
But on the other hand the unit counts as disembarking from an Open-Topped Vehicle, and those rules say that models disembarking from a vehicle can't assualt unless the vehicle is open-topped or is a land raider. We ended up rolling dice to see what would happen but if anyone know wich is right let me know.
Please use some paragraphs. ~Yoss
Last edited by Lord Yossanrion; March 2nd, 2007 at 00:07.
A unit disembarking from a Drop Pod simultaneously counts as having disembarked from a vehicle and deep striking. Therefore both conditions apply - the Space Marines could have assaulted from the Drop Pod if it was a regular open-topped vehicle (which I'm not sure that it even is...) but since they count as deep striking, they cannot move the turn they appear on the battlefield. Thus, with the exception of moving to disembark from the Drop Pod, they can only shoot.
By the way, this should probably be in the rules forum...
Space Marines have a rule specifically for the "Drop Pod Assault" (Codex SM, p.21) which states drop-podding units may not move on the turn they land other than disembark. The DA seem not to have this specific rule, but as far as I know the GW response to this problem so far has been that DA drop-podding units work just like any other drop-podding SM units.
Think of it as a miss print. The rules in C: SM are correct. The ones in C: DA are not.
EDIT: Das make the worst drop podders, because of the excessive points, lack of cleanse and purify, and extreme cost of the plasma guns.
For more on drop pods, see my sig.
One can think of it as a mis-print OR one could use the abortion of a column that Jervis wrote a couple of months back (anyone remember RAW?) and throw it in GW's face. They've stated that we should Read As Written unless there is an official FAQ. At this point in time, there is not an official FAQ only an un-official one so technically DAs can assault out of DPs (until GW officially states otherwise).
I think that everyone is pretty clear that this is just an oversight but, I feel that this should be thrown in their faces and used to death to illustrate to them how asinine their concept of RAW actually is. If there is a problem with the rules, they need to fix it, not tell tell us to read it more clearly.
Yes, there are female marines and my Sunhawks will let you know in a major way.
Not all the Emperors Children turned coat. We will redeem our name.
i think ill not exploite this oversight for now. it would be way to easy to make use of DA drop pod's "inertial guidance system" to drop as close as i can flame the hell out of someone and then charge to finish them off. But, when they finaly do get around to puting up the DA faq and i dont see them clarify that we cant assualt from drop pods then ill probably be drop poding the hell out of people. :yes:
Last edited by Cowboy; March 4th, 2007 at 05:09.