Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The more i use the Chimera the greater my regard for it. It has to be the best Imperial transport point for point on offer. But i have a few questions regarding it's hull mounted lasguns and ambigous fire points.
First off Fire Points. I have a pretty old copy of the Guard codex so this may have been updated but can someone please claffiy if it does indeed have two fire points. The copy of the Guard codex i have says that one model may fire from the top hatch. But the Witch Hunters codex states that it has two fire points thus allowing 4 people to fire from the top hatch. Any help here would be appreciated.
Do the hull mounted lasguns have a 90 degree arc of fire from their point on the tank, ie a fixed weapon arc of fire as show in the rule book? It does not sitpulate. The lasguns may only be fired by the passengers so are they allowed to fire even if the tank moved 12" just like the fire points? And i assume they always count as stationary becasue they are mounted?
Thanks for you help.
Only fire points are the six lasguns on the back and the top hatch in which one model may fire a weapon from but it will make the chimera open topped in the enemys next turn.
Infantry fireing from the chimera count as moving if the chimera moves, and may not fire at all if the chimera moves farther then 12".
As for degrees I wouldnt know, sorry, hoped it helped.
Last edited by Mrgame; March 16th, 2007 at 02:38.
Not quite right.Infantry fireing from the chimera count as moving if the chimera moves, and may not fire at all if the chimera moves farther then 12"
If the chimera moves over 6", no weapons can be fired anyway - including the hull mounted lasguns.
Maybe you just meant 6" instead of 12"?
But that's still not completely correct. After moving the chimera 12", you can still have the infantry disembark and rapid-fire. In fact, you can move the chimera 12", spin it around, have the troops onboard disembark 2" for a total of 26" range rapid fire (if you include movement as part of the range).This bit is completely correct however - it is stated on page 45 of the current IG codex, in the chimera transport section under the heading 'fire points'.Only fire points are the six lasguns on the back and the top hatch in which one model may fire a weapon from but it will make the chimera open topped in the enemys next turn.
As for fireing arc, you know, i'm not so sure anymore. I'm pretty sure all of this has already been covered in an earlier thread, however, so if you skim/search through the older threads you will probably find your answer.
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
Does that mean you can no longer do 12" drive bys from the top hatch with a melta gun?
I was fairly sure (as in thought i read it in the BBB this week) that even though a vehicle may not be able to fire (due to distance moved) the infantry inside just counted as moving (i.e. as if they themselves had moved) for the purpose of determining whether they could shoot or not. I understood this to mean that in practice you were only going to be able to fire rapid fire, assault or pistol weapons from a fire point, and the rapid fire ones would only be shooting up to 12" in any case.
I have too many armies to list in my signature!
You can still do the 12" "drive by", as troops in a Chimera are a different unit from the tranport, so can shoot as if moving.
Because the Chimera's Lasguns are "Hull Mounted" my feeling is that they are part of the vehicle and can shoot at the same target as the vehicle, not separate targets, but can shoot the full 24" if moved up to 6" or if within 12" can rapid fire. This also means that if Stormtroopers are inside, they still only hit with a BS of 3 not 4.
The arc of shooting to me has always been 360 degrees as the Lasguns rotate on a ball joint.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
I don't think we'll ever get a definitive answer on the hull mounted lasgun query. This is something I'm suprised Games Workshop didn't properly address in the latest codex. To be honest, I don't think I've ever actually tried to use those lasguns anyway - I always forget they're there!
So my humble Guardsman's fist is as strong as a blast from his laser rifle?
Ditto here. But I use Chimeras for moving cover and fire support so.
Three Companies of the 26th Vinancium
143rd Airborne Badgers (99.9% done)
159th Corsair Rifles (35% done))
69th Armored Wall Busters (95% done)
Total 197 men, 12 tanks, 4 Heavy Artillery Pieces
Interesting take on it Diggum's, i would have to say to i'm standing on the otherside of the fence with this one.
I fully expected this to be 'up in the air' so to speak.
It's my understanding that the lasguns can only be operated if the chimera has a unit on board. So it seems reasonable that they my fire at a different target than the chimera considering that the unit is fireing them, in similar vein to shooting from the fire point/points.
Can any one figure out the diffenerence between the witch hunters and IG codex chimera (anyone know what the dH codex entry is like?) entries? The WH codex does not even mention the hull mounted lasguns but states that the chimera has two fire points. Therefore 4 troopers may fire out of the top hatch. BUT the IG codex says only one model may fire. That gives the chimera only 1/2 a fire point considering that two troopers can make use of one fire point. And i hardly think that the WH codex states two fire points to incorporate the lasguns. Bizarre....
The arc of fire for the lasguns is also a so-so. I can understand Diggums when he says 360 degrees (it is simple and clear) but i'm inclinded to believe that they would run akin to sponson arcs. If this is the case then a unit inside will never be able to make use of all the lasguns because they will not be able to see the same target. Also very bizarre.
The reason i'm trying to sort this out is that IF the chimera has two fire points and the lasguns are 360 degrees and can fire at a seperate target then a tranported unit of ten men will fire on the move without a reduction in fire power. A normal unit of guardsmen would get an assault weapon and 9 lasguns. Vets, 3 assault weapons and BS 4? assume threy have grenade launchers and add that to the Chimera shots and you have 6 strength 6 shots and 3 strength 5 shots plus flashlights. Very nice.
This whole thing stinks of a really bad conversion from 2nd Edtion 40k that has never been looked at by the powers that be. It worked back then but now it is ambigous and very annoying.
Maybe i should write to Jervis and see if i could grace his Standard Bearer article with an issue that might rival his, 'stop arguing and dice for it' article of a couple of months ago.