Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was wondering if I would be able to take a conscript platoon in my grenadier army. I noticed that codex states that I can take one conscript platoon for each infantry platoon but my question is could I take a single conscript platoon if I dont have an infantry platoon. The conscript page has no info on its availability, as most of the time if a unit type has such requirements, one can still take one and only ONE such unit in a normal army, but if he wishes more then he has to filfil the requirements.
For example, Take chaos raptors and DE warp beasts, one unit can always be taken but if one wants more then one unit then he has to fulfill requirements, in DE case take more wyche units.
You must have a normal infantry platoon to have a conscript platoon.
The codex says you may include a conscript platoon for each infantry platoon you have( if you only have two infantry platoons, then you may only have two conscript platoons), not to mention you also have to take the doctrine to get conscript platoons in the first place.
So no, you may not have a conscript platoon unless you have an infantry platoon for each one.
Answer your question?
the rules are quite clear, 1 conscipt platoon per normal platoon. you should get at least 2 platoons anyway for the helpful leadership bubbles created by the command sections.