Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is a stupid question:
If there is 1 member of a squad left that has close order drill does he get the +1 I/+1 Ld?
My argument was since he is the only member of the unit left, he is in base to base contact with each member of the unit. Basically there is no way for him to not be in base contact with the rest of the unit cause he's all that's left.
My friends didn't see it the same way, they reason in order to get the bonus you need to have someone in base to base. Which is a strong argument.
The Doctrine is basically describing that the squad functions best when organized in a neat fashion with other squad members.
You can't be in b2b contact with other members of your squad if the squad isn't there. I'd say that: no, you don't get the bonus if he's alone.
well, it depends how the dead bodies are stacked , Actually i would have to say that your friend is right. It just seems kind of counter intuitive to what the doctrine actually does.
"This sure ain't no pansy Eldar Armor, Son"
185th Cadian Armored Div.
"One Shot, One Kill"
Western Border Patrol of Athel Loren
I third that as well. If he is the only one alive then he doesnt get the benefit of being in close order drill because it is practiced with 2 or more people/squadies.
No question is stupid(especialy the ones in our Codex, some things are enough to make a man drive up a wall).
That's what I figured, since i didn't see any faq mention about that doctrine your points make sense.... so many of these rules are so much up to interpretation it's not even funny... When i play games i usually take the attitude that if there it's not stated I can't do it then I must be able to do it.... especially where they could have started the doctine with say "basic infantry platoons and conscript platoons with two or more units...)
This doctrine doesn't make all that much sense to me overall either, i mean your command squads for the infantry platoons can get the +1/+1 (making the jr officers ld 9 for innersquad testing) but your HQ command squads and veterans aren't gonna be skilled in that drill??? common...
No. The rules states that the unit must be in base to base contact with each other. Once you are down to the last man in the unit, there is no more base to base contact between the units.
Where the heck did all them guardsmen come from?
Great Wolf! Is that the howl of the 13th?
In base to base contact does require there to be 2+ models in a squad so I'm guessing any benefit is going to be negated.
If you go by the description aswell saying that they are "thoroughly drilled in fighting in dense formations". You can't have a dense formation of one unless all your guardsmen have Naruto-esque superpowers.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
Just to add to the fluff point you mentioned. I find it annoying that grenadiers cant take it as it would be very helpful in my NApoleonic themed army. The veterans however dont really need it fluff wise. They work independantly with their own INt. Therefore in my Napoleonic style army they are the sharpshooting skirmishers ahead of the line.
The main commands dont need to either and i thik its just to stop it being overpowered!
I am still yet to do my conscript platoon with square bases in Napoleonic style its gona be so cool though template weapons are gona hurt so bad lol.