Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
will the inquisitor keep the bonuses he gets from his retinue even if the retinue dies?
<a href='http://kevan.org/brain.cgi?Konstapeln' target='_blank'>Hey! You! Yes, you. Click this link or I'll eat your brain!</a>
Yes. Page 13 of the Daemonhunters Codex:
"Any profile increases an Iquisitor may benefit from due to his Henchmen remain in effect even if the Henchmen that afforded the increase is removed from play."
That includes any extra psychic powers you can take due to familiars (1+3 max).
but the conundrum comes with does he keep powers such as the mystic, or the sage reroll if they are dead. I say no because they arent stat increases.
Unless this's been regarded in a FAQ, I think people will always debate it.
I say yes, as the line says "Any profile increases...", not stat-line increases.
profile is stats not abilities.
The Mystic is the one who supposedly spots the enemies, The Sage works out weapons trajectories, and if the Hierophant dies, there is no longer a unit including a Hierophant, is there? We play it like this: while the stats remain the same, the special rules do not (except for the Familiars' rule-that's in the Codex). But I guess mEGALOMANIC's right; it's up for debate right now. As long as you play the same way every time.
It sounds to me that ... an Inquisitor has the psychic powers, not the Familiar. So although it hasn't come into play since I've enver played my DH against Chaos (the only ones worth taking more than 1 DH psychic power against) I'd consider the Lord to keep the psychic powers, and the codex clearly states that his profile increases stay but that the other models' more specialized abilities are conferred only if they're in the Retinue, and once they're dead they're not in the retinue anymore.
It does seem like a double standard, but it doesn't seem all that much up to debate to me. I think it's stated pretty clearly in the codex.