Assassin in a Marine army - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member F1$t Of UltrAmAr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Age
    24
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Assassin in a Marine army

    Do U know in the deamon Hunter codex, it says u can take an assasin if u have an inquisiter, Can u take an inquisiter for marines? Can u also take an assasin such as the vindacare?

    Cheers for reading :yes:

    Last edited by F1$t Of UltrAmAr; April 17th, 2007 at 22:37. Reason: Tad messy
    A wise man once said "Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him to use the Net and he won't bother you for weeks"

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    Yep, so long as the Inquisitor is an Inquisitor Lord, as you're only allowed one allied Elite slot.

    (btw, please clean up your post. Was a tad difficult to read)

  4. #3
    Senior Member Morkai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    846
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x2)

    Like MalSeraph said, you'll need an inquisitor lord with at least a small retinue before you can get an assassin of any kind. However if you really wanted to you could have the whole lot in power armour and just model them like a regular marine command squad. Mind you they may not be as good as actual marines depending on what you give them.

    Or you could just have inquisitors backing your army.
    Gargrimz Green Deff
    W:10 D:4 L:5

  5. #4
    Mau'Dib
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    499
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    I'm uncertain of this, however, can't you take 1 elites choice from Witch Hunters + 1 elites from Daemon Hunters? In that case, couldn't you take 1 inquisitor from the WH, and then bring the vindicare (or any other assasin) from the DH? (since all it says is an inquisitor must be present)

    If the answer to my questions is yes then you can bring a normal one and the vindicare, if it's no you can still bring an Inquisitor Lord and the vindicare (or any other assasin.)
    ~2k of genestealery goodness
    ~1750points of terminator goodness

    Dovie'andi se tovya sagain

    more witty remarks to come.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yeah you can do it. My friend always fields a inquister (usally hidden) and then has some sort of assassin come in at around turn 2 or 3. Oh and to answer the question above me you cannot have a WH inquister and a DH assassin (two different armies,orders,and commanders.)

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by paul_Harkonen View Post
    I'm uncertain of this, however, can't you take 1 elites choice from Witch Hunters + 1 elites from Daemon Hunters? In that case, couldn't you take 1 inquisitor from the WH, and then bring the vindicare (or any other assasin) from the DH? (since all it says is an inquisitor must be present)

    If the answer to my questions is yes then you can bring a normal one and the vindicare, if it's no you can still bring an Inquisitor Lord and the vindicare (or any other assasin.)
    The word on the street (the daemonhunter forum), is that you cannot do this. The rational is the same reason that my gaunts don't gain the benefit of being in synapse if they are by your hive tyrant. *to take an assassin from the DH codex you must have an inquistor present in your list, it should be assumed that the inquisitor should be from the same codex, because that is where the rule is listed.

    The thing is that you can make a pretty cheap, and effective devastator type squad with heavy bolters and a plamsa cannon to warrant its use along with the assassin out of the Inquisitor Lord. Might as well, and then you are not lawyering rules from two different codices.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Remember folks.. Replace "Army Name" with "your" in virtually every codex which uses its own army name

    IE "The Space Marine turn" = "Your turn".. "Eldar Models within 12"" = "Your models within 12"

    Also, the easiest way to answer such a question regarding this question (as it has been asked 100 times) is to REMOVE names and instead think of *Everything* in a codex as a complete and seperate entity from other codexs (This will not apply to really old 3rd ed codexs like BA). They do not mingle nor do they affect other codexs (Unless FAQ states otherwise)

    Codex: Demon Hunters = X

    Codex: Witch Hunters = Y

    Assassin = A

    Combination of Codex + Unit = Ax or Ay

    Obviously the two armies are different and cannot simply swap items/choices/etc at will.. why? because they use two different codexs. Allies is a *rule* within such codexs that allows certain units to be used by other codexs. Substituting the names for variables you come up with the following

    You choose unit A(x) which requires X to be used. A is a unit choice from X EVEN tho Y has a unit choice that *Seems* identical they are not because A is from X not Y

    Therefore, to use A(x) you need X. In order to use A(y) you would have to be using Y

    Possible combinations include... X + A(x), X + A(x) + y. Y + A(y) or Y + A(y) + x

    Im just having fun with variables btw. What this means is that you can take an DH Inq Lord and a Dh assassin or a DH Inq Lord, a DH assassin and a WH Inq or a Wh Inq lord and a WH assassin or a WH Inq lord, a WH assasin and a DH Inq. Just because a unit has the SAME NAME doesnt mean its the *Same* unit. Put (Insert Army list) infront of all units and you'll understand better

  9. #8
    Mau'Dib
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    499
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    That's fine, I was just uncertain (and since the discussion clearly crops up on the DH forum from time to time I'm not the only uncertain one.)

    In that case you have to do the lord thing.
    ~2k of genestealery goodness
    ~1750points of terminator goodness

    Dovie'andi se tovya sagain

    more witty remarks to come.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts