Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
LORD SOLAR MACHARIUS.
Few days ago I found his profile in official games-worksop page/ ig characters section ( GW Online : Warhammer 40,000 : Imperial Guard : Imperial Guard Special Characters )
It says in it: "Any ig army of 2000pts ore more can take Lord Solar MAcharius...".
There is nothing written about asking your enemy.
Is it 100% legal to take him to lead your army (including also obligatory choice - Comand Platoon), is it official or house rule? Do I have to ask my opponent ? Does it look different on tournaments? I've heard that all forgeworld's rules, gw www site's rules are respected.
MY USE OF TERRA'S GREATEST
This character is expensive one but to me he seems to be the only hope, and way how to fight with my opponents which are most often: eldar (air cavalry option) and tau (using skimmers as well). In past I faced huge problems while fighting against such forces (in general: holofields, minimalised squads with plasmas and autocannons (most effective against skimmers but still useless, enemy vechicles ignoring melta weapons... etc.)
I figured out that the best way to anihilate skimmers is to do it in the very begining of battle (before they move that means that penetrating hits = penetrating hits and not only glancing as usually).
So I thought of using Lord Solar (beside good abilities to close combat, 3+ Inv Save...etc.) is a master-startegist and allows you to go first in any mission where this is normally decided randomly and make good use of 2 or more Basilisks (3 I believe are to many because there is a big problem when enemy gets within less than minimum range of 36") and infiltrating vets with lascannons.
What do you think?
I just looked up the page, on the special character you are referring to. I noticed that near the top of the page it was written that his rules are no longer official, as they come from an old IG codex. However they also state that you /can/ use him in friendly games, but this also implies that you CANNOT use him in competitive play. As such I'd probably ask my opponent first, because he is a non-official character, and it would be unsporting to use something that is not officially usable in the current Codex.
Last edited by Sipid; May 11th, 2007 at 18:18.
Aye, Lord Solar Mack and Gork the Ogryn bodyguard are both relegated to the realm of friendly games. Though they are so far from gamebreaking that I'd never have a problem with them.
RecklessFable's Journey to Mediocrity (Painting an IG army)
I've been addicted to World of Tanks lately and neglecting my IG... But it is so... much... fun!