Drop Troop question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member NurgleBurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Drop Troop question

    Is it legal to take an army with drop troops and deepstrike the entire army?

    ___________________________________
    Armies
    Necrons-5000pts
    Feral Guard-1500pts
    Chaos-3000pts

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member drdapoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by NurgleBurp View Post
    Is it legal to take an army with drop troops and deepstrike the entire army?
    :yes:
    In the rule book, on page 5, it says:
    "The most important rule about playing games of Warhammer 40K is to have fun!"

  4. #3
    Riddle Me This The Count's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    25
    Posts
    903
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x2)

    only certain units can drop. Im pretty sure that only guardsmen and sentinels. Along with vets i think and stormies, but other units cant.

    but all dropping units are mentioned in the doctrine section.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Steel_Legianaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Yes you can have an entire army that DS, meaning nothing to shoot at till turn two, the bad news is no russes,:cry: , and HW are at best going to get rocking turn 3, so you rely on sentinels and lots of special weapons, and pray thay your army doesn't come in piece meal.
    Battlesuits, putting the BS in BullS*%t.

  6. #5
    Set Sail and Conquer! Cadaver Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,633
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    301 (x7)

    pray thay your army doesn't come in piece meal.
    This is very true!

    The good thing is that guard can run large army choices - your command choice, for example, can comprise of 2 special weapons teams, 3 sentinels as well as your actual command squad.

    (Yeah, you could also take heavy weapon support squads, although I wouldn't advise it if you plan on deepstriking them).

    When they deepstrike, they all deepstrike at the same time, with the same die roll to see if they come on! (although when deploying, deploy seperately). This can be a boon - you can really make sure you get something done
    "Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"

    Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.

  7. #6
    Shrug, k... Certs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    169 (x4)

    i don't have my codex anywhere around here but can't sentinels get teh vehicle upgrade for improved comms as well so he could re-reroll a few failed reserves rolls as they work even when held in reserves as well.

    ...A blog that's mostly about Infinity, but sometimes other stuff too.

  8. #7
    Set Sail and Conquer! Cadaver Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,633
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    301 (x7)

    i don't have my codex anywhere around here but can't sentinels get teh vehicle upgrade for improved comms as well so he could re-reroll a few failed reserves rolls as they work even when held in reserves as well.
    This is true - just dont forget that you cannot re-roll re-rolls!

    Yeah, improved comms work wonders here!
    "Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"

    Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts