Doctrines when an Ally - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    A 51st Century Man Marrius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Indiana State University (NOT IU)
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,806
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    105 (x5)

    Doctrines when an Ally

    Well, the title says it all. Can I use the Imperial Guard doctrines for Inducted Guard units specifically an Infantry platoon if I am using either Daemonhunters or Witch Hunters?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    It's a Trap! Warrior47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,750
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    168 (x5)

    The DH codex atleast says "only the basic versions of these troop types published in the appropriate Codex can be used. No variants of any kind can be incorporated."

    Later it also says that marines may not use chapter specific rules. Therefore, because the troops with doctrines aren't really basic, I don't think that they would be able to use doctrines since those would be variations.


    Quote Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
    I can't offer anything new here but I just laughed my arse off that LO has an Irish accent.

  4. #3
    Senior Member farmpunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Age
    42
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    59 (x2)

    It says clearly in the Induction rules for WH/DH that inducted troops CANNOT take doctrines. If you induct IG into your Inquisitor army, you get vanilla troops.

    your choices for IG troops are:
    A Platoon,
    An Armored Fist

    as an Inquisition army, you're not restricted by having to take a Platoon for each armored fist taken. This way, to unlock Heavy Support and Fast Attack choices, you could take:
    2 Platoons, or
    a Platoon and an Armored Fist, or
    2 Armored Fists.

    You still can't take doctrines. only BASIC version of the troops. the rules explaining this are found on pg 25, with a list of troops found in a grey box of pg 26 of the WH codex. The same rules are on pg 21 of DH codex. the troops lists are sprinkled through the DH troops listings in boxes.

    hope that helps!

  5. #4
    A 51st Century Man Marrius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Indiana State University (NOT IU)
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,806
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    105 (x5)

    Thanks for answering guys you pretty much killed a dream for me. I guess I will just be the Imperial Guards for now on. But wait! can I have an Iquisitor Lord as an ally to my Imperial Guard force?

  6. #5
    It's a Trap! Warrior47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,750
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    168 (x5)

    Yes, you can take an Inquisitor Lord as an ally for IG. You can have 0-1 HQ allies. You have the dex right?


    Quote Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
    I can't offer anything new here but I just laughed my arse off that LO has an Irish accent.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts