Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now I know you all think close combat is a silly place to be with guardsmen. It probably is. The main gripe I have with the 'warrior weapons' doctrine however was not that it was useless, but that it meant you couldn't be mechanised.
I think mind you that I've sneaked my way round it...
In the same vein that characters may ride in a vehicle bought for the squad they are attached to, could a squad ride in a vehicle bought for the character?
Because if they can, then a techpriest enginseer each for the only two squads in a minimal guard army (the regular infantry squads) equips them with a chimera each! If you buy him a chimera obviously.
This could also worm it's way round things like the 'Light Infantry' doctrine, where it can only be given to squads without a transport (though why you'd want light infantry in a transport is beyond me).
Any thoughts? A good idea? Or am I turning into some kind of evil Rules Lawyer of Doom
If I've replied, i've probably used Italics...
www.goodbyeboltgun.blogspot.com - Some of my stuff.
If i understand my codex right there are rulings that keeps that train of thought from happening. Usually the wordings are that any IC that joins a unit looses specific options that it has as long as it is apart of that unit. A good example would be an IC attached to the harden veterans, then the infilitration rules are lost due to the IC. It works the other way round. If a unit is not allow any transport option then any IC that is attached to it looses that options as well.
I will have to reread the ruling on that later but I do believe that is how it is on that case.
Where the heck did all them guardsmen come from?
Great Wolf! Is that the howl of the 13th?
Interesting. I'll have to take a closer look at my codex when I get home from work.
4,000 + Points of Tyranids
1,800 + Points of Imperial Guard
1,600 + Points of Eldar
?,??? + Points of Witch Hunters (Just Started)
"There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness.""
- Dave Barry
<-- If you thought this post was helpful, please click the yellow star.
The Enginseers transport is a dedicated transport and thus only he(and his servitors(and any character that might join them)) may ride in it.