Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the codex it states:
"Roll at the beginning of the phase. The unit gains an invulnerable save equal to its normal armour save for the remainder of the phase. This may not be combined with any other saves."
Does this mean that I must decide which of my units will use SotM BEFORE my opponent declares any assaults? Or can I decide to do it after he moves a unit into contact with my unit? If I have to declare before an assault, it may waste alot of faith points if he doesnt actually assault-but if that's the rule then so be it.
Also, when fighting orcs with choppas, is the invulnerable save only 4+ (since the choppa reduces armor saves to 4+)?
In shooting phase, it must be done before targets are declared (I will often ask my opponent to stop and let me know when he's about to start the shooting phase).
In assault phase, it should be done before charging. These are normally fairly obvious. Granted, not always, but normally.
The Inv save vs Ork choppas would be 3+, since the save is gained at the beginning of the assault phase. The choppa doesn't modify your save until you actually take a wound, mid-way through the phase.
Yep, all the faith powers must be used exactly like it's described in the codex.
Especially the Fearless power is the harder one to decide and use, but if it's used correctly it could save your army multiple times.
For example, if you have anticipated that a unit of Wyches will hit your line next turn, and you have your units stationed tightly together.. put the Fearless power on a unit of Celestians and throw them in the front, you'll be amazed how long these girls will last out against them (unless you start rolling badly on your 3+ armour save), while giving you enough time to spread out the rest of your army.
Except that I find that a Book of St Lucius will normally keep a squad around just as long... and it won't use Faith.
Of course, Book of St.Lucius will normally keep your squad where they are, but apparently my dices dont coop like yours and I make sure 100% that they arent going anywhere. It's up to you wether you want to overlook that 1/6 chance of failing LDR9 check at a crucial moment.
Yeah, how many times did I blow a LD test on my HQ before...